Chicken Noodle Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This recipe was so yummy and definetly a great Comfort food. I made it for my boyfriend and he gave me major kudos and high fives. We liked it better than the tuna noodle casserole I make. I did change a few things which I think made it even better. I boiled the chicken in water until it could be shredded. Then I sauted the chicken in butter just to brown it a little with red onion, chopped celery, salt, pepper and garlic powder. I also steamed fresh broccoli and chopped carrots to add as vegetables and I added corn and peas to the mixture. I didn't have chili powder or paprika so I used cayenne pepper to taste depending on how spicy you want it but it gave it a little kick but not too much. I also used white cheddar and mild cheddar block cheese and montery jack with jalapenos block cheese that I cut into little medium sized strips and stired some into the whole mixture to make it extra creamy and cheesy which tasted awesome. I used the rest of my cheese strips to put on top. I did not have any bread only club crackers, so I crushed them up and sprinkled over the cheese if I had ritz crackers I would have used those but the other was still great on top adding some crunch which I think sounds better than bread. It was all just so delicious and I will be making this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
The ideas are endless on changing up this recipe. You can use pretty much any veggie and meat you like for this cassarole, but in my case, I used 2 cans of cream of chicken to make sure the noodles and the chicken stayed creamy and moist. I used canned corn instead of peas and carrots...the corn gave it more texture. And finally, I didn't have bread crumbs so I used crushed up Ritz crackers for the topping instead...it gave it more of a crunchy and buttery taste. Overall, the recipe was very good, simple and cheap to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This turned out really good and was easy to make. I did add maybe 3 T. of minced onion and 1 clove of minced garlic. I wouldn't recommend putting the noodles in the bottom of the pan, set aside and then add and toss with Chicken mixture. I used half of a 398g package of medium egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I thought this recipe was very easy,and good. my husband didnt care for it, but my father-in-law loved it.I would probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
It was OK - kind of bland. I'm not sure what it needed - maybe brocolli instead of peas and carrots . . . I don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
A good way to use that left over chicken! I used 1 teaspoon of dried onion flakes, a small can of corn in place of the peas & carrots (yuck!), added a dash of Frank's Red Hot Sauce for 'zing', Cheddar cheese instead of Jack, and topped all of it off with a small can of French Fried Onions for crunch! Scaled it down to serve 4...made enough for at least 6 ample servings. I think this is a good base for any left over poultry, meat or fish. By the way, using 1/2 can soup and 1/2 can sour cream will reduce the sodium in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
Very good. I made a few changes. I used American cheese, as recommended by others, but it wouldn't melt. I will probably use shredded chedder next time. I also didn't use onions. I used onion salt and Mrs. Dash to cook the chicken instead. Used sourdough bread for the topping and that was very good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
This was really easy to make, especially because I was in a hurry and had some left over chicken breasts that I needed to use. I thought a little Miracle Whip or mustard would add a nice zingy flavor, I'll do that next I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
This was pretty good--we liked the bread on top and I made it with Monterey Jack because that is what I had on hand (I'll try the american next time, thanks for the tip!)--but we thought it could have used a little more flavor--I will make it again and add a bit more chilli powder and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
Yes this is my recipe...just to let you know allrecipes altered the way I sent it before they published the recipe. I always use American cheese, NOT Jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States