Chicken Noodle Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
My family loved this recipe! I did follow the recipe given, using spaghetti noodles, which I believe is best. I think some might have had problems with pasta being too dry because they chose to use bow tie and egg noodle pasta, which is wider and would soak up more liquid, making recipe dryer. Stick with the spaghetti! I added spices to chicken; salt, red pepper, black pepper, and dill, which was great. I used cheddar cheese instead of the mozzerella and placed dried onions on top (this helped give more flavor as well). For another tip: Use low sodium soups. It makes the dish healthier and you can always add salt later. :-) Overall, really enjoyed and will definitely make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I made a few changes to this. I used one can of cream of chicken, and about a 1/2 cup of sour cream ( did not use cream of mushroom ), added some garlic powder and black pepper, and used cheddar cheese. I also added corn and peas to the mix. It came out a little bland, but some salt and pepper fixed that problem. I will make this again with some extra seasoning. I served this with spicy green beans and wheat bread with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CariMel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
With some tinkering thsi turned out quite well (my grandson loved it!) but I'm rating it 3* as written. I used leftover roast chicken (probably had about 3 cups of shredded meat...maybe less) & I didn't have any cream of mushroom so I used a can of cream of poblano chile (as well as the cream of chicken). I used healthy request soups & I added a tbp. of chicken base to my pasta water instead of salt. I left my spaghetti just a little under-cooked...it finished up in the oven. I also added garlic powder, italian seasoning, onion powder & peas (the peas compensated for the missing chicken). I used some of the flavored pasta water & upped it to 1/2 cup (could still probably use a little more)& I topped the casserole w/ croissant crumbs (I baked some stale croissants at 250 degrees for a couple of hours & then whirled them in my food processor)& a mexican blend cheese & dried parsley flakes for a bit of color. I served a salad & buttered & toasted, split hot dog buns w/ it. Thansk Daniella Stevens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This recipe is oh so good. I did add a couple things to it. I cooked my chicken in boiling water then an hour or so later took it out of the fridge put it in a frying pan with 1/4 cup of onion, 2 garlic cloves, and some fresh parsley, salt, and ground pepper. I think it made the chicken taste wonderful. I didn't add the 1/4 cup water, because I felt it didn't need it. My husband said it was very good and even went back for 2nds so I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This is a good comfort food...and you can use canned chicken in a pinch! A great one dish recipe...could add frozen peas for color and some veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
very easy...You can change it up too, add a veggie or anything...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Great recipe, definitely cook the egg noodles in chicken broth instead of water! I cooked my chicken in a skillet with seasonings instead of boiling and shredding it. I added celery and carrot, too, to make it more like chicken noodle soup! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Sorry, but this really didn't taste like much of anything. Could be a good recipe to build off of, but I'd rather just use a different recipe all together. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
My family is not a big fan of casseroles, but I decided to make it anyway because I wanted to use the leftover spaghetti pasta and also because my kids love chicken noodle soup. I added about a cup of frozen peas and carrots, and used 2 lbs of shredded chicken breast, and it came out very good. The kids liked it and I liked the consistency--very dense. Personally, as another reviewer pointed out, it needed something to spice it up. But perfect for kids since they have delicate taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I made this for my husband and he said it tasted just like homemade chicken noodle soup. This recipe is quick and easy. I love making this and adding carrots and celery just like I would if I was making soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States