Chicken Newburg Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
good recipe, liked the new use of cooked chicken, hearty supper for a cold night
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
I left off the avocado as I don't like it. Thought it was very good and a bit different. It had a good flavor and I was pleased to discover it didn't make the toast all soggy. However, I think this is 3 servings at most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
A nice simple meal. I substituted Marsala wine for Sherry. I also added some frozen peas. I would use less salt or none at all next time since the chicken broth had enough salt in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
This is gourmet restaurant-quality food and very quick and easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly but increased the avocado; served it on toasted sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
This was amazingly easy! I will steal components of this recipe for other things -- the sauce was so creamy but not too rich. I served it over rice instead of toast, which I think cut the flavor too much. I would add more seasoning next time if I used rice again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Super recipe for a quick easy dinner. I would however add cayenne pepper or a good dash of hot sauce the next time. It really wasn't enough for 4, 3 would be just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Excellent recipe. Next time I will leave out the extra salt, as it was very salty. The sauce was creamy and flavorful. I used this as a recipe for leftover chicken and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
NIX THE SALT! I'm so happy I read the reviews before making this. Can't imagine what having that extra t. of salt tossed in would have done to the taste. This was very "Newburgie"....lol Flavor wise and it went over well with my family. I'm not a "Newburg" fan, but will give it a 4 for flavor and ease of making it. I'm going to try switching out the Sherry with white wine next time just for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
I thought this was bland and boring. I haven't made anything "Newburg" before so maybe I just don't care for the flavors. If you make this, be sure to have all ingredients ready ahead of time...the cooking goes fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This was super easy to make. Didn't have any peppers the first night I made it so substituted with a bag of frozen peas - still tasted great, but can see where the sweetness and color of the red pepper would be nice too. Also, served over rice instead of bread so I didn't have to cut up for the toddlers - both kids ate it up in a heart beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States