Chicken Newburg Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Great! Easy to put together and a great way to use up cooked chicken. The mixture is similar to that of a chicken pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Sorry, but we just didn't care for this. The avocado seemed liked it didn't belong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
This recipe definitely needed some ooomph for me. Hubby thought it was good, but I found myself wanting some depth to it. Maybe marsala would have been better than the sherry. I ended up adding a lot of Tajin seasoning to it (as you can see from my photo), but it could be any seasoning that you wanted it to be. I did not add the avocado because I couldn't imagine the flavors together, so maybe that's the reason for my thinking it was bland. This is a very quick and easy meal to make using leftover chicken. Thanks for this idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
My husband loves this meal and makes it all the time. My daughter who is a very picky eater always eats the whole plate..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This was SO good! I loved the nice subtle yet creamy taste. I added some peas to it, but TOTALLY forgot to put in the avocado! I love avocado, too. I won't forget next time! I'm excited for leftovers, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This was super easy to make. Didn't have any peppers the first night I made it so substituted with a bag of frozen peas - still tasted great, but can see where the sweetness and color of the red pepper would be nice too. Also, served over rice instead of bread so I didn't have to cut up for the toddlers - both kids ate it up in a heart beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
I thought this was bland and boring. I haven't made anything "Newburg" before so maybe I just don't care for the flavors. If you make this, be sure to have all ingredients ready ahead of time...the cooking goes fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
NIX THE SALT! I'm so happy I read the reviews before making this. Can't imagine what having that extra t. of salt tossed in would have done to the taste. This was very "Newburgie"....lol Flavor wise and it went over well with my family. I'm not a "Newburg" fan, but will give it a 4 for flavor and ease of making it. I'm going to try switching out the Sherry with white wine next time just for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Excellent recipe. Next time I will leave out the extra salt, as it was very salty. The sauce was creamy and flavorful. I used this as a recipe for leftover chicken and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Super recipe for a quick easy dinner. I would however add cayenne pepper or a good dash of hot sauce the next time. It really wasn't enough for 4, 3 would be just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States