Chicken Nepiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
My boyfriend and I both thought this was fantactic. I didn't have garlic cream cheese spread, so I mixed some powdered ranch dressing mix into the cream cheese and it tasted great. I also sliced a pocket in my chicken breast and stuffed instead of rolling (Live on the top floor of an apt, didn't want to be banging chicken). I also did not freeze, but cooked right away. The only problem I had was I did not use toothpicks and since my chicken breasts were so thick, some of the filling had leaked out. SO I would recommend doing as the recipe suggests as far as the technique, but the ranch dressing in the cream cheese was perfect. Also, I would recommend dipping the chicken in something before rolling in bread crumbs because the bread crumbs did not stick as well without it. And use panko!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This was great! I used three chicken breasts but only pounded to 1/2 inch ( read the recipe wrong) so it took about 40 minutes to cook.. but it was so worth the wait! I used Onion and Chive cream cheese and Panko crumbs (added in my own seasoning). I am a cream cheese freak, not to mention I'm pregnant, and my husband was in awe of me scarfing it down. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I didn't use egg before frying. When frying I put one side spices, one side breadcrumbs. Turned out great! I might try following the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I took the essence of the recipe and put a twist on it. I made my own cheese filling by using the last remains in the fridge of crumbled goat cheese and cottage cheese, seasoned it, and whipped them together. I also added fresh, chopped spinach before rolling the chicken. I got very positive reviews at dinner. I had company as well as three kids to please and I could have doubled the recipe. Thanks for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
This recipe is SO delicious and easier to make than I thought! I made it for my boyfriend and we are both hooked. I couldn't find garlic cream cheese so I just mixed the cream cheese with garlic salt. This is definitely happening again in our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I made this for dinner tonight and it was amazing! My family loved it. Perfect with a glass of red wine. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Aalderink

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I've just made this, but my own way and it is SO GOOD!! I made my own garlic cream cheese with elephant garlic and shallots, then i rolled it up inside chicken that i sliced thin myself. I toothpicked them, dipped them into flour, egg, then breadcrums, all which were seasoned. Dropped them into oil in a dutch oven, and now they're delicious little morsels of chicken and cream cheese! I surprise myself sometimes! Also served with some asparagus with sour cream. I would have taken a photo but my husband and I destroyed it, it was just that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
We love this recipe! My 11 year old asks for it all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This is the second time I've made this. The first time, the chicken was totally overcooked at 400 degrees F for 20 minutes, so this time, I cut it back to 375. The photo chicken breast was 10 oz (huge) and, again, it was slightly overcooked at 20 minutes at 375. My supermarkets do not carry garlic-flavored cream cheese, so I used lower fat cream cheese and added garlic powder (and some chopped chives) to it. I also used some herb seasoned Pepperidge Farm stuffing which I crushed and used for the breading. What you can do with the cream cheese filling is almost unlimited. My recommendation would be to bake for 15 minutes at 375 degrees F and then use a thermometer to check the internal temp of the chicken. This is very good but would be even better if cooked properly, so it ends up juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I came across this recipe one day and had to try it!! I am not the most patient cook so I typically dont like a recipe that has this many steps but it wasnt nearly as bad as it seemed while reading it!! It was a major hit among the people I made it for and definitly plan on making it again!! The best part is that it wasnt a lot of stuff that I had to go shopping for. I had most everything in my kitchen already!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States