Chicken 'n' Carrot Dumpling Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I have made this at least ten times now, it's one of our favorites at home. I add more vegetables though, like broccoli, corn, carrots, squash, and peas. I saute the chicken and brown the onion a little before adding it to the other ingredients. I don't think I've ever had a tastier dumpling. The trick is to keep them small so that they cook all the way through. Warm fluffy goodness...mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I made this recipe exactly as shown. All the ingredients are items you would have on hand. My husband and I both loved it. Definitely would make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This recipe was so yummy!! Even my picky 1 1/2 year old loved it. Only thing I did different was not to add the thyme and adding a little bit of garlic powder to the chicken/stock mixture and then also to the dumplings. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I've made this a few times with whole wheat flour dumplings. You can't even taste the carrots. It turned out quite tasty, although I needed to use more liquid to make sure the dumplings were covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
recipe is a little bland, and i found the dumpling directions a bit vague, though it was my first time making dumplings. my dumplings spread out all over the soup and came out to be un-dumplings. I think this is an ok recipe to be creative on top of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
It would have been better but don't add the flour until you are done with the dumplings because the flour will burn otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Very good! I didn't use the dumpling recipe here, I used one that didn't have carrots in the mixture, as well as I used a vary of different vegetables, but it was hearty and tasted great. I did however notice something another viewer said which was that the flour mixture in the sauce burned to the bottom when steaming the dumplings, I will take care to add that mixture in after the dumplings are finished cooking next time, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
So quick and delicious, we truly enjoyed this recipe! Comfort food, simple and very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This was a hit at our house. Made as instructed only added more veggies. Nice quick week-night meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
carrots overpower
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainview, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States