Chicken 'n' Carrot Dumpling Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Very good! I didn't use the dumpling recipe here, I used one that didn't have carrots in the mixture, as well as I used a vary of different vegetables, but it was hearty and tasted great. I did however notice something another viewer said which was that the flour mixture in the sauce burned to the bottom when steaming the dumplings, I will take care to add that mixture in after the dumplings are finished cooking next time, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
So quick and delicious, we truly enjoyed this recipe! Comfort food, simple and very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This was a hit at our house. Made as instructed only added more veggies. Nice quick week-night meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
carrots overpower
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainview, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I have made this at least ten times now, it's one of our favorites at home. I add more vegetables though, like broccoli, corn, carrots, squash, and peas. I saute the chicken and brown the onion a little before adding it to the other ingredients. I don't think I've ever had a tastier dumpling. The trick is to keep them small so that they cook all the way through. Warm fluffy goodness...mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This is a dish that I have been making for years. The quickie version calls for canned condensed cream of chicken soup. I like this old fashioned homemade version better. The only thing I do differently is I make the dumplings from bisquick (follow directions on box for bisquits and spoon-drop them in instead of baking). I have added peas to this a couple of times and once I added asparagus tips which was very good, as well. This is a nice family style recipe that you can be proud to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This recipe was so yummy!! Even my picky 1 1/2 year old loved it. Only thing I did different was not to add the thyme and adding a little bit of garlic powder to the chicken/stock mixture and then also to the dumplings. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This was good except the dumplings did not turn out very well for some reason. I will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
recipe is a little bland, and i found the dumpling directions a bit vague, though it was my first time making dumplings. my dumplings spread out all over the soup and came out to be un-dumplings. I think this is an ok recipe to be creative on top of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Very good. I'm a vegatarian but the odd time I eat chicken. This is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue-Ellen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States