Chicken Mushroom Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
My lunch for next week. I kicked up the flavor a bit with some red-pepper flakes, using white pepper instead of black, and using three times the called-for garlic. Used farfalle (bow-ties), instead of linguine, for easier eating at my desk. I found the directions in how to incorporate the flour and broth a little unclear, as posted. What I did was sprinkle the flour over the sauteed chicken chunks, stir in to make sure everything was nicely/lightly coated, and add the broth. Worked. Oh ... and I simmered the sauce with the chicken (before adding the mushroom/onion mix and the sour cream)for at least fifteen minutes, to ensure a creamy texture. Would probably be even better with some frozen peas added at the last minute. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I thought it tasted way too much like sour cream. If I was going to make it again, I would cut the amount of sour cream in half and find a way to bring out more of the mushroom flavor. I was surprised at the good reviews for this dish. I didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I really liked this. The consistency of the sauce was perfect for us although I did add a bit of Parmesan cheese per other reviewers suggestions. If you like stroganoff then you will love this dish. It is very similar in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcella71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This is a winner!!! I made this for a romantic evening with my boyfriend. I did add a little variation to it with fresh spinach & parmesan cheese. Also, instead of using flour I substituted with corn starch because I've found it doesn't clump & thickens better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xallip79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thibodaux, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This was really good. It's perfectly rich on its own, no need for cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Excellent dish...my recommendation is to use plenty of black pepper for flavor, but with proper season it is exquisite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This was only so-so, but perhaps it was my cooking skills. :) I found the sauce to be a little more bland than I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
all you can taste is sour cream .and its very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Surprisingly simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
My husband and I enjoyed this dish. It needed a bit more salt. I did not add the salt called for and I used homemade chicken stock and eliminated the sour cream. My sauce was nice and brown as I browned the mushrooms, onions and chicken in light butter. I will have it again and may even try it with beef. I used Wondra to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Creamy Chicken on Linguine

Tender chicken served over pasta with a sumptuous, creamy sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States