Chicken Mushroom Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
My lunch for next week. I kicked up the flavor a bit with some red-pepper flakes, using white pepper instead of black, and using three times the called-for garlic. Used farfalle (bow-ties), instead of linguine, for easier eating at my desk. I found the directions in how to incorporate the flour and broth a little unclear, as posted. What I did was sprinkle the flour over the sauteed chicken chunks, stir in to make sure everything was nicely/lightly coated, and add the broth. Worked. Oh ... and I simmered the sauce with the chicken (before adding the mushroom/onion mix and the sour cream)for at least fifteen minutes, to ensure a creamy texture. Would probably be even better with some frozen peas added at the last minute. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I thought it tasted way too much like sour cream. If I was going to make it again, I would cut the amount of sour cream in half and find a way to bring out more of the mushroom flavor. I was surprised at the good reviews for this dish. I didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I really liked this. The consistency of the sauce was perfect for us although I did add a bit of Parmesan cheese per other reviewers suggestions. If you like stroganoff then you will love this dish. It is very similar in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcella71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This is a winner!!! I made this for a romantic evening with my boyfriend. I did add a little variation to it with fresh spinach & parmesan cheese. Also, instead of using flour I substituted with corn starch because I've found it doesn't clump & thickens better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xallip79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thibodaux, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This was really good. It's perfectly rich on its own, no need for cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Excellent dish...my recommendation is to use plenty of black pepper for flavor, but with proper season it is exquisite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This was only so-so, but perhaps it was my cooking skills. :) I found the sauce to be a little more bland than I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
all you can taste is sour cream .and its very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Surprisingly simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
My husband and I enjoyed this dish. It needed a bit more salt. I did not add the salt called for and I used homemade chicken stock and eliminated the sour cream. My sauce was nice and brown as I browned the mushrooms, onions and chicken in light butter. I will have it again and may even try it with beef. I used Wondra to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Creamy Chicken on Linguine

Tender chicken served over pasta with a sumptuous, creamy sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States