Chicken, Mushroom, and Polenta Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Searching on this website for a way to use Polenta, I checked this recipe out. My rating reflects my changes. Seemed like the ingredients were a little unusual, but it looked like something I could work with. I used 2 14.5 oz cans of diced tomatoes with garlic. I’m still not sure where all the salt is coming from…don’t add any more. I used grown up Cremini’s…Portabella’s that is, homemade pesto, dried basil and oregano and twice as much reduced fat Mozzarella. Also, I prefer more like a third of my daily protein intake per meal (3 meals per day), so added less chicken than called for. No point wasting protein, it is one of the more expensive aspects to required daily needs. I also added a can of healthy choice cream of mushroom soup for flavor and “creaminess” as well as some white wine during the reduction process. I didn’t cook the tomato mixture as long as recommended and added the onion and ‘shrooms early. The polenta was “Original” on the bottom and “Garlic Basil” for the upper layer. What I’m saying is I’m not one to respect a recipe on the first go ‘round. It was a lot of work, what with “searing” the polenta…2 patches in a big pan…blah, blah, blah...but it was DARN good in the end and a change of pace from the whole grain/wheat pasta’s that I LOVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Mountlake Terrace, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This was wonderful. Be sure to use roma tomatoes or the sauce will never thicken properly. As another reviewer suggested, I tossed the chicken with the pesto for ease of assembly. To make it a one dish meal, I also added veggies. I sauteed chopped onion with a bit of olive oil before adding and sauteeing the chicken. Then I removed the chicken from the pan and added a cubed zucchini and the rest of an eggplant I had leftover along with some sliced mushrooms and minced garlic. When the veggies were done, I proceeded with the recipe as written. I did top with a bit of freshly grated parmesan. Any veggies you have would work as would the recipe written as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I really loved this recipe. However, i switched things up a bit and used store bought spaghetti sauce and then made my own polenta that had spinach, garlic and cheese in it. Polenta is sooo easy to make and by making it yourself, you can make your own flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frogchick4Him

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This is a good one! I tossed the chicken chunks in the pesto sauce instead of trying to smear it over the pieces of polenta, and used canned tomato sauce for convenience. I couldn't find pre-made polenta, so I made my own, nothing is easier! Next time I'm going to try broiling the polenta in the oven instead of taking the time to fry all those pieces in several batches. I really liked the polenta in place of pasta, it gives it such a good texture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This is WONDERFUL. My husband has begged its permanent residence in my recipe box. I did leave this a vegetarian dish, omitting the chicken, and I added a couple of layers of flat noodles in addition to the polenta. All else remained the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Delicious. I halved the recipe for my wife and myself and she loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coconut_Pie_Man

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I made this a little differently based on circumstance. I didn't have an onion, but it was still fine without it. I just used canned tomato puree, tossed in some extra rosemary and sage with the basil but I didn't have fresh oregano. I probably needed like 4 tomatoes and 6 mushrooms, though 10 would be good, too, for mushroom lovers. I used Quorn "chik'n" strips instead of real meat, which were delicious. I'd definitely put in much more pesto and cheese! I also added some sauteed spinach and eggplant in the sauce. With adjustments by preference, it was really, really good but takes a LONG time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I didn't change a thing; this was very tasty and simple; I'm not much of a pasta fan; first time trying polenta; and I loved it. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by di19681

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This is an excellent twist on lasagna. The flavors are so much more exciting. The pesto is a great addition, and I was afraid the polenta would get too mushy, but I ended up actually liking it better than noodle texture. I used a spaghetti sauce in a jar instead of making my own to save time and used regular mushrooms and onions. I also threw in some carrots, zucchini and red pepper that I needed to use up. My only complaint is that frying the polenta is both time consuming and painful (oil gets very splashy). Not really sure how to fix that, but might try baking next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This was good, but the polenta gets a little slimy. My husband loved it, but the kids didn't like the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States