Chicken Murphy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I had leftover chicken and potatoes and decided to give this recipe a try. It was just ok. I did use a cherry pepper instead of jalepeno and a yellow pepper, not green. The boys enjoyed all the meat but the sauce was only passable. Should have put the wine in my glass instead :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
My boyfriend made this dish for me and it was very good. He follwed the recipe as written and I believe we will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
If you have leftover chicken and/or italian sausage this is a great recipe to go with that. I skipped the green pepper but added sundried tomatoes and a can of chicken broth (adjust the cornstarch until you get the right thickness) Top off with some pine nuts and fresh parmesan. Also, a whole jar of jalapenos seemed like overkill so I just chopped up a few hot cherry peppers. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I just finished making this dish and I have to say that I am disapointed. It lacked so much flavor I had to totally doctor it up with salt,pepper, garlic & onion powder along w/paprika. I also had to add a full cup of wine as well. No cornstarch needed since it was thick enough too thick in fact that I had to add almost a whole can of chicken broth. I didn't had the spice since my 5yr old will be eating it so not sure if that had anything to do w/the end result. It made an awful lot so we'll have to make due. Wish I wouldn't have wasted my ingredients or the 2 hrs it took to complete the dish. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I had leftover roast chicken and BBQ'd Italian sausage so I decided to use this recipe. I sauteed the onion and garlic like the recipes says then I added 2 garden fresh tomatoes, the white wine and my leftover chicken, sausage and the boiled potatoes. I added some chicken broth as well. I didn't have any peppers but I added a few red pepper flakes for flavour. I also omitted the cornstarch. The recipe turned out great and my husband and 3 kids all liked it (which is not easy to accomplish!!). This was a great way to use my leftovers and I will definitely keep this one in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
Fyi as a fellow NJ resident That loves her Chicken Murphy its sliced cherry peppers thats needed not jalapeno . About 1 cup for serving 6-8 people
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
Holy smoke! WAAAAAAY to much jalapenos, on top of hot sausage. I only added 6 oz jalapenos and it just about killed me. And I LIKE spicy food. Other than that, it was so-so. Don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
This was only so-so for me. As another reviewer already noted, WAAY to much jalapeno pepper. Also, it didn't seem very "italian".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
My whole family loved this recipe! One problem...the recipe calls for a 12 oz. jar of jalapeno peppers. Talk about a 3-alarm fire!! Wayyyy too much peppers...a 1/4 of a jar will do just fine. Also, I used turkey sausage to cut the fat. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
I LOVED this dish!! I made a few changes (no peppers or jalapenos, used tomatoes instead, and added some italian seasoning, skipped the cornstarch part because my sauce was thick enough already) I wasn't a fan of the italian sausage we got, so I ate mine without - still fantastic! Beware, however - this is not a "fix it & forget it" recipe - you're basically working on it right up until it's ready. If you're making it for company, I'd make the sauce a little while ahead and let it simmer or pan-cook it to reheat, and make the pasta right before serving. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Restaurant-Style Chicken Scampi

See how to make a quick and creamy chicken pasta that's a twist on shrimp scampi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States