Chicken Monterey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Amanda Sheren
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This was so delicious!!! I wish I was rating it 100% on the original recipe as I hate it when people change things and then rate but, that being said, I didn't have white wine or chicken stock. So I used 1 cup of chicken broth instead of the half cup of white wine and half cup of chicken stock. As far as mushrooms go I used baby portobello as the flavor on those is amazing. I used 4 chicken breast halves as that's how many I was serving and kept the sauce amount as listed since I saw some previous reviews stating the sauce wasn't enough and that amount of sauce was just enough to cover the 4 half breasts. I also followed another reviewer's recommendation and lightly browned the butter in a cast iron skillet before adding the chicken. This allowed quick colorization without having to cook the chicken too long on the stovetop so that when I baked it the chicken did not come out over cooked at the 25 minute mark. I followed all directions and cooking times as listed and found this to be even tastier than going to a restaurant! I feel like I haven't cooked a chicken dish this yummy in a long time. I would even save just the sauce portion of this to use as a super tasty mushroom gravy for other dishes. I think serving this alongside some buttered egg noodles would be really good. I will definitely be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Sheren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Fantastic and pretty easy to make even for me! I'm usually a 5 ingredient or less cook. My family loved it and it was perfect for 4 people although my husband and my boys were hoping for leftovers. Tasted delicious even though I was missing the white pepper. I did take time to pound the chicken thin and cut the oven time down by 5 minutes. This will become a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This recipe is so delicious. It was even great left over. Will definitely make it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I made this recipe, but I eliminated the celery salt. I also added twice the amount of wine that it called for. The sauce definitely has to be thinned out a little bit. But, it was one of the best dishes I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
A real treat. The second time I made this I followed advice of other reviews and made a few " tweaks" to the recipe. (Yes, I know about those of you who scold folks who rate a recipe based on their personal changes. I rated this a 5 star as written, and now want to make my personal recommendations for changes. I always enjoy - and learn from - others who take the time to write their personal hints and tricks to improve a recipe.). My changes: 1. used the amount of butter as written and did not think it was too much. 2. doubled amount of wine. 3. Skip the part where you coat the chicken with flour. This is not necessary and makes for shorter prep time. Just brown the chicken breasts in butter. 4. Omit celery salt. 5. use 2-3 cloves of garlic. 6. Did not pound to flatten chicken breasts. Just used thick, plump pieces and they cooked beautifully. Husband loved this recipe. Served with wild rice. Thanks! Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Love this recipe- I always make it when I've got time for something other then sloppy joes or turkey burgers. It definitely has a prep time, but your patience will be rewarded with a tasty dish fit for guests! I'm finding it odd that some people are complaining about the cheese in the recipe- when it's sort of the biggest deal to it, lol. I don't change anything except the white pepper (which I don't have)- and it turns out great- I serve it with some wild rice and steamed kale and it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
My DH loved this chicken recipe. I took some of the advice of others and left out the celery salt, cut back on the butter to make the sauce (used a little olive oil instead--still tasted GREAT), and I used a half a cup of monterey jack cheese in the sauce and didn't feel that it needed more. I also used three cloves of garlic, and didn't have any white wine on hand, so I used cooking sherry. I used 2 chicken breasts and cut them in half to speed up the cooking process and used the sauce amount in the recipe and it was just enough--so if your making 8 breasts, you may want to make more sauce. I also browned them in the butter once it was brown--kept them moist and golden brown--yum. My DH said this was awesome and wants this more often. Next time I will increase the sauce and serve this over wide noodles! Yum....thank you Doreen for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
My husband & I loved it............The only change I made, was to make additional sauce. That is, possibly I made it too thick. But I just added more stock and wine, as it cooked, till it reached the consistency and amount I felt was right. My husbands compliments of the dish kept coming after every bite! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Very good cut chicken breast in 1/2. Used vermouth instead of white wine. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This was so good! I followed the directions -except I used only chicken broth( my kids hate when I use wine in recipes). The chicken was tender, sauce was amazing. My 16 year old daughter said it was the best chicken she's ever had..she even stopped talking to eat dinner! I served it with oven roasted potatoes and sauteed green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Natick, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States