Chicken Mole with Four Chiles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
very good,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Before this, I had never attempted mole but had it at a really good Mexican restaurant. Word of warning, for those unfamiliar (as I was), I smoked two blenders trying to put this together. The recipe doesn't emphasize that you WILL need to add a substantial amount of water/broth. It doesn't seem as thick as it actually is, so make sure to add plenty of liquid. If you end up adding too much, you can always take the cover off and cook the liquid off at the end. Also, it improved greatly after cooking it with the chicken. I was really worried at first when I had just made the sauce and tried some, it was weird and bitter but once it got several hours (crock pot) with the chicken in there it lost most of the bitterness and came together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This was wonderful... Gives competition to my Grandmas mole... Actually... I like this one better. I don't know why there are bad reviews. It is not overly sweet. The recipe as seen above doesn't call for salt but that is an obvious to bring out the flavors of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
it had the right tastes and colors... it just wasn't at all spicy... maybe next time i need to leave some of the seeds in it to make it a little spicy.... also make sure you use a plantain that's already ripe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
i love this recipe. it is the closest i've seen to real traditional, mole the author is right there are many variations, for example i used pumkin seeds instead of the almonds, and add cloves and peppercorns when pureing the ingredients. it is also a good idea to brown the chicken before adding the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosali.nd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
My husband and father in law love chicken mole, so of course I logged onto allrecipes to find me a recipe. This was very very good! A couple of things to note 1) I cooked the chicken in a dutch oven (filled with water) and used the broth from the chicken to thin the mole paste while blending. 2) I added 1/2 tsp of cloves and 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the onions and garlic. I mixed the mole sauce and the chicken together at the end, and simmered for 20 minutes. My sauce came out really thick---just how my family likes it----but the pieces of chicken didn't hold together well. Next time I will remove the chicken from the dutch oven after it is cooked, set aside, and cook the mole sauce in the remaining broth. Will probably serve by pouring the sauce over the piece of chicken. Will definitely cook again, and probably play with the spices a little more, maybe add more toasted cloves. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This is fantastic. I added about 2 Tbsp sugar and a dash of cinnamon though, and it turned out to be very delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsJames

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This is a great recipe, a little sweet and spicy at the same time! The only change I made was I added two extra tortillas, also I used the chicken broth left after boiling my chicken thighs & legs, instead of water. I will be making this again. I served it with rice and onions marinated in lime and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I just made this for a Day of the Dead celebration and it was a HUGE hit!!! The taste is subtle and so good. The biggest comment was that it was not overpowered by chocolate as some moles are. I personally love alot of chocolate in my mole but this was a delicious varition!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elba

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States