Chicken Mole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
First time I ever made a mole and it turned out GREAT! Changes: Cut up chicken tenders so cooked pretty quickly. Didn't have any bay leaves so I completely omitted that. Didn't have sesame seeds so I used sesame oil to Brown my chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I omitted the raisins and sesame seeds and added 1 tablespoon of peanut butter and 1 chopped jalapeno. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CaptMicha
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Followed the recipe to the letter (except for using sunflower seeds instead of sesame seeds) and it turned out rather bland and lackluster. I feel like reducing the sauce may have produced better results... But the recipe didn't call for that. I also think I'd use cocoa powder next time instead of chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptMicha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brookeville, Maryland, USA
Photo by sumana
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
In all honesty, I have not ever made mole before, nor have I eaten a lot of it. However, my family loved this dish and my husband raved for a couple of days. My stepdaughters are Mexican and have an abuela that makes "the best mole in the world!" But they really enjoyed this dish as they told me all about hers ;-) They did convince me to add some more cayenne pepper and chile powder, as they like it a bit spicier. I also did not have sesame seeds on hand, but I'll try that next time. I really appreciate how simple this recipe was and how fragrant and flavorful too. As another review recommended I used an immersion blender to puree the sauce. (Removed the chicken first, of course.) Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lxmonge
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Was delicious! Made it with left over turkey and puréed the sauce before adding the turkey. Definitely will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Very good, easy mole. I took a lazy turn. Browned the onions, garlic and spices, added 4 frozen chicken breasts and the liquids. Cooked it very low for about 3 hours, then removed chicken, shredded it and used emersion blender on sauce. Cooked this down to a thick sauce and added raisins, added back to chicken. Super yummy, super easy. Served for a dinner party the first time I made it and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Very good. My whole family enjoyed it. I would like to try to thicken the sauce a little more next time as mine was thinner than I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JTTERWELP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Not a keeper. Too strong of ground cloves. There's no chili powder which would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Very interesting flavor and a really good mole 'cheat' recipe. We wrapped the chicken in tortillas with some adobo sour cream. Also, I added anise seeds. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zippy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Loved this sauce. I've made mole before and although it was good it always tasted like something was missing. This will be my go to recipe for mole from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Chicken Milano

A tasty Italian-influenced chicken dish with sun-dried tomatoes and cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States