Chicken Mexicala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
My son loved this recipe, he polished off the rest of the pan (although I was planning on leftovers). I did add the cumin and used a large can of evaporated milk and some chicken broth in the sauce. I put salt/pepper and chili powder on the chicken breasts and sauted them in olive oil, deglazed the pan with white wine and added that to the sauce. My son says this is a keeper. I told him it was "Mexican Lasagna".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Great recipe, I changed it to 6 chicken breasts, two cans of mushroom soup, 2 cans of evaporated milk and 2 cans of green chilis, I kept everything else the same and didnt' drain the chiken much, just added the other stuff, it helped to stretch it out more, it's quickly become a favorite at my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Branson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nixa, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I cooked my chicken with the onions and the green chiles. I added some taco seasonings such as Cumin while cooking the chicken. I didnt have evapoated milk so subbed it for powdered milk with only 40% of the water added to it. (since evaporated milk is milk with 60% of the water evaporated) Other than that, I layered in it a round casserole dish and it turned out great. Oh, and I did half corn half flour tortilla since I am a corn fan and my husband is a flour fan but we coudnt tell the difference in the end. i had them ripped up in bite size pieces. Next time I might try adding another can of green chiles or adding green enchilada sauce. I made homemade quacamole with black beans and corn as a side dish. I am eating leftovers right now and it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Photo by Tami
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I was looking for the easy button! My family lives in El Paso, Tx and these ingredients are already in my kitchen, This recipe is a good one,....kind of reminds me of a green chile enchillada. It's great for kids with alergies [no wheat]. I did make a couple of changes: I used a smaller cassarole dish., I added more corn tortillas. Before I layered the bottom of the cassarole dish, I cut the tortillas in bite sz pieces and then put them in a little hot oil to soften. I had to go with the cumin suggestion [1 tsp] because it is more authenic to mexican food and it gives a dish that punch! I added more cheese as suggested as well. Yummy, a quick meal, and my picky 12yr old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is a good dish. It needs a little something extra though. It is kind of bland. I mean, we added salsa and some of us added sour cream so that really helped. but if you want to have it by itself then it needs something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Very easy and filling. Nice taste too! I sprinkled some garlic powder and chili powder on the chicken and layered sliced cheese on top of it before adding the top tortilla layer. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
i have made this and have settled on some variations; i double (at least) the amount of green chiles, i mix it up the night before and refrigerate to blend the flavors, and i sometimes use tortilla chips crushed up in place of corn tortillas. i'll use a whole chicken and stew it, and then debone using both white and dark meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I love this recipe and after reading all the reviews I made a few small adjustments I use mexican seasonings (like taco seasonings) to the chicken mixture this adds great flavor!!! I also like to add cheese to each layer making it more cheesy mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sara a

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Excellent! As guided by the other reviewers, I added 1 tsp cumin into the chicken/soup/milk mixture and also added approx 3/4 C chicken broth. When cooking the chicken beforehand, I seasoned with some cayenne and chili pepper. Thinking of making this for the super bowl, it would be a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I used shredded chicken, didn't fry the tortillas, added some garlic powder, chili powder, salt and pepper. I took the advice of one review to add cheese to the first layer. My husband loved it and so did my 2 year old daughter. I cut back on the onion but that was the most overpowering taste in the recipe. I know I will make it again but will cut down on the onions. Whenever I buy a precooked whole chicken; I shred the leftover chicken. I always make something with it the next night like tacos, casseroles or soups. This was a great recipe because I always have the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States