Chicken Meatball Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I was looking for a soup recipe with parsnips (because I like parsnips) that my kids might like, and I found it. I used ground beef instead of chicken, but thought the meatballs were a bit lacking in taste. Next time I will add parmesan cheese to the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This soup is delicious. Second time I made it I added frozen dumpling noodles with the broth and all other veggies (omitting the parsnips)to boil and simmer for 30 minutes. Five minutes before serving I added fresh spinach and a tablespoon of lemon juice for a nice alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by webervn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I made this almost as written. Instead of the 4 cups water, I added 8 cups chicken broth. I like my soup a little thinner. Plus I separately cooked alphabet pasta and added as much as each of us wanted per bowl. Made a sick little girl happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Meatballs were good but soup was a bit bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Make this for a light dinner and added some small pieces of kale. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I changed a few things to match what is ready in my garden and what was in my cupboards, but it was DELICIOUS. Parsnips aren't ready so I used potato. I used a larger quantity of homemade sourdough breadcrumbs mixed with lots of fresh basil and oregano, along with salt and pepper in ground dark chicken and turned the meatballs during baking to brown evenly. I used homemade canned chicken broth with chicken breast chunks in it mixed with some frozen homemade turkey broth and I added a bit more salt and pepper to the broth along with three-four TBSP fresh lemon juice. I give it a 4.5 and I will definitely make it again. Tomorrow night I'm going to shred some gorgeous cabbage and just barely wilt it in the soup for seconds. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I made as stated basically. WAY too much parsnips. I like parsnips but thought the taste in this recipe was way overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebelshope

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very tasty and healthy Everyone liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Excellent soup. Did not use parsnips. I mixed half of the sauteed onion and garlic into the meatballs; made the meatballs the size of walnuts; cooked no yoke egg noodles in broth before added baked meatballs. Did not use water; instead used 64 ounces of organic chicken broth. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I used 1 lb. of organic ground chicken for this recipe. To the meat mixture I added chopped garlic, fresh parsley, basil and fresh grated parmesan cheese for more flavor along with other ingredients called for. The preparation time is not correct because it took 30 minutes for prep time including forming 18 small meatballs. The meatballs took 15 minutes to bake but I flipped them over halfway through baking to ensure even browning. I used 4 cups of low-sodium chicken broth in place of water. I did not have any parsnips on hand so I just used 2 large carrots, 2 stalks of celery plus I added chopped garlic, chopped red onions and fresh parsley. When the soup came to a good boil I slowly added the cooked chicken meatballs. I served the soup over some cooked egg noodles, which I prepare earlier, and I garnished with more minced parsley. This was a fresh, delicious and hearty take on classic chicken noodle soup. I served this over a bed of egg noodles. The chicken meatballs were scrumptious and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States