Chicken Meatball Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
So good! Used all fat free/low sodium chix broth instead of adding water. Added sauteed onion and garlic to the meatballs as well as a pinch of nutmeg which I love in ground chicken. I also added sliced zucchini and 1 can of small white beans to the soup. Instead of baking the meatballs, I dropped them into the soup and let them cook in the broth. I also omitted the egg in the meatball mixture, didnt think it needed it. Loved this soup, reminded me of Italian Wedding soup. I'm always looking for ways to use ground chicken or turkey, and this is a great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2000
A tasty soup-- good over rice or noodles. I omitted the parsnips because I don't care for them much, and I increased garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
We really enjoyed this, and the smell while it was cooking was unbelievable! This is a great summer soup, because it feels light while still filling you up. We followed the recipe exactly, which by the way, doesn't mention noodles in the ingredients list, so make sure you have some cooking while the soup's simmering. It also doesn't mention to remove the bay leaves before serving, which being in a hurry, I also forgot to do :P If you have any leftovers, they reheat VERY well, my husband says even better than the first time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
EASY AND QUICK NICE CHICKEN FLAVOR. WE DID NOT CARE FOR THE CHICKEN MEATBALLS, NEXT TIME WE WILL USE BEEF INSTEAD. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Ronkonkoma, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Perfect for on a cold day! I omitted the parsnips (didn’t have any) and added small pasta shells and fresh thyme sprigs. The meatballs were a nice change from the usual chicken soup. I’ll definitely make it again, though I’ll tweak the meatballs a bit for a little more flavor. Thanks, Betty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu loves to cook!
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
The wife and I both loved it. Would make it again for sure. Made it esactly as the recipe read
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Cooked this for my boyfriend when he was sick. Wonderful recipe! I left out the parsnips, and added egg noodles to bulk up the soup. Tastes good with 1/4th the sauteed onions mixed into the meatballs before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This is a great base recipe. I use ground chicken a lot and this a good use for it. When I first read the recipe, I thought, "why do I need running water while making meatballs?" That seemed odd to put in a recipe, but I guess it would help a beginner. I added garlic powder & white pepper to the meatballs. Browned them with the convection oven. Substituted parsely and summer savory for the parsnips. Added a few chopped jalapenos, red pepper, and some edamame. Also added white pepper and garlic powder to the broth to get the taste to our liking. Used low-sodium chicken broth and no added salt to the meat or the broth. Added Amish garlic egg noodles directly to the broth. A great soup to have when getting over the cold/flu...I made this in December, not summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
this is so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I made this soup for supper tonight, with a few changes, and it was very good. I did not have parsnips, but I did have a zucchini, so I quartered and sliced it and substituted it for the parsnip. Also, did not have egg noodles, so I added some rice (a little less than one cup) right to the soup. My kids loved the meatballs! I will use a little less pepper next time in the meat mixture. And I'll try it with the noodles and parsnips, too! Seems pretty versatile. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States