Chicken Meatball Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This soup is delicious. Second time I made it I added frozen dumpling noodles with the broth and all other veggies (omitting the parsnips)to boil and simmer for 30 minutes. Five minutes before serving I added fresh spinach and a tablespoon of lemon juice for a nice alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by webervn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I made this almost as written. Instead of the 4 cups water, I added 8 cups chicken broth. I like my soup a little thinner. Plus I separately cooked alphabet pasta and added as much as each of us wanted per bowl. Made a sick little girl happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Meatballs were good but soup was a bit bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Make this for a light dinner and added some small pieces of kale. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I changed a few things to match what is ready in my garden and what was in my cupboards, but it was DELICIOUS. Parsnips aren't ready so I used potato. I used a larger quantity of homemade sourdough breadcrumbs mixed with lots of fresh basil and oregano, along with salt and pepper in ground dark chicken and turned the meatballs during baking to brown evenly. I used homemade canned chicken broth with chicken breast chunks in it mixed with some frozen homemade turkey broth and I added a bit more salt and pepper to the broth along with three-four TBSP fresh lemon juice. I give it a 4.5 and I will definitely make it again. Tomorrow night I'm going to shred some gorgeous cabbage and just barely wilt it in the soup for seconds. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I made as stated basically. WAY too much parsnips. I like parsnips but thought the taste in this recipe was way overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebelshope

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very tasty and healthy Everyone liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Excellent soup. Did not use parsnips. I mixed half of the sauteed onion and garlic into the meatballs; made the meatballs the size of walnuts; cooked no yoke egg noodles in broth before added baked meatballs. Did not use water; instead used 64 ounces of organic chicken broth. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I used 1 lb. of organic ground chicken for this recipe. To the meat mixture I added chopped garlic, fresh parsley, basil and fresh grated parmesan cheese for more flavor along with other ingredients called for. The preparation time is not correct because it took 30 minutes for prep time including forming 18 small meatballs. The meatballs took 15 minutes to bake but I flipped them over halfway through baking to ensure even browning. I used 4 cups of low-sodium chicken broth in place of water. I did not have any parsnips on hand so I just used 2 large carrots, 2 stalks of celery plus I added chopped garlic, chopped red onions and fresh parsley. When the soup came to a good boil I slowly added the cooked chicken meatballs. I served the soup over some cooked egg noodles, which I prepare earlier, and I garnished with more minced parsley. This was a fresh, delicious and hearty take on classic chicken noodle soup. I served this over a bed of egg noodles. The chicken meatballs were scrumptious and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This is a great recipe! I vary a bit from the directions as written, though, and have found it results in a more flavorful soup. I begin the whole process by cooking onion and garlic in olive oil until soft. I add half of this to my ground chicken for my meatballs. For the meatballs, I omit the egg but add salt, pepper, herbs (i usually use thyme and rosemary) and NUTMEG (!!!). I form the meatballs and cover them with a wet paper towel and put them in the fridge for later. Meanwhile back in the pot, I add the chopped carrots and celery (I also omit the parsnip) to the onion and garlic and season with a pinch (just a pinch!) of turmeric. I let the veggies cook for a few minutes before adding the broth and bay leaves. Once this mixture comes to a boil, I add the 4 c water and allow it to boil again. (*** You can let it cook like this, covered, pretty much as long as you want! Longer = more flavor! It will reduce some, though, so be prepared for that or add more water, 1c at a time! ***) When its getting close to eatin' time, I carefully drop the meatballs into the soup mixture 1 at a time and let them cook in the broth rather than baking them. I also boil some egg noodles separately for adding to the soup (I do this so everyone can add as many or as few noodles as they want, also so they don't turn to mush sitting in the hot soup!). The result is OUTSTANDING! A cold winter night go-to in our house! It also freezes beautifully, sometimes we make a double batch for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fannypak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States