Chicken Marsala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Loved this recipe. I did 3/4 cup of Marsala and omitted the sherry. I made this in a cast iron skillet, adding twice the mushrooms and a bit of heavy cream at the end. I served this over pasta... My very picky child loved it. My husband loved it. And I loved it. This tastes so good, it's perfect for special occasions, and so easy you can make it on the fly, and make a boring day special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Litherland

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Photo by WCsinger09
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
The reason I gave this 4 instead of 5 stars is, I'm sure, because I did not buy high-quality Marsala wine. Here is what I did: Flattened the chicken breasts on the cutting board underneath plastic wrap. I put the flour mixture in a jumbo Ziplock bag and alternated adding chicken pieces and a little flour. When all the pieces were done, I sealed the bag and shook it up. I then browned the chicken and set it off to the side on a plate. I added probably 1 1/2 cups wine to the pan, along with the mushrooms. I let it reduce for a minute or two, then added the chicken back in. I turned the chicken once, simmering for probably 15 minutes while I made risotto. I turned the heat down to low and added a few tablespoons of half and half and mixed it in. The chicken was wonderfully browned and so tender I cut it with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Really great! I did use marsala wine and chicken stock and no sherry because I do not care for sherry. I also added a little garlic, just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I have craving chicken Marsala for a month now! My niece and I made this recipe and it was absolutely delicious. The kids loved it and even had seconds. I think the sauce was a little to thin but it was wonderful anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Be careful. Tripled sauce like one reviewer recommended and it turned out horribly. Be careful to taste the sauce before adding. My cooking sherry overpowered the dish. Very sour and vinegary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Easy to follow instructions! Thank you so much for sharing! I followed the advice of ASHLEYJJONES and made a cream sauce to serve on the chicken. It was delicious! Honestly, I didn't have any heavy cream, so I put in some whipped cream! Our sons love it too! We put the sauce on roasted potatoes as well. I didn't have time or means to pound the chicken thinner, so I left the chicken breasts the way they were, but I cooked them through to start. What a delicious dish! A definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was a hit at the party and super easy to prepare. I skipped the flour because I was cooking for some gluten-free friends and thickened the sauce with cornstarch at the end. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli Shircliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This chicken marsala is so amazing. I made it for New Year's Eve and it was a big hit with everyone! I made a few small changes to the original recipe. Tripled the mushrooms, used less olive oil and less oregano. Browned the chicken and then removed to a baking dish. Made the "gravy" in the pan. Made extra gravy to serve with my mashed potatoes and added a bit of half-and-half to smooth it out. After cooking for about 10 minutes in pan, poured it over the chicken and popped it into the oven for about 30 minutes. Turned out perfect! Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This is a very easy and yummy recipe. I've made it many times. if you don't want to pound chicken, simply cut it into thin cutlets. I also like adding green onions with mushrooms. It adds a nice flavor to the sause.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LENUSIK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is delicious! So simple yet elegant. I used brown rice flour to dredge the chicken - it's gluten free but the added benefit is that it makes the chicken almost silky. Baby Bellas hold up nicely and adding a few sprigs of fresh thyme as the sauce simmers really adds dimension. I'm 100% German but my Italian husband said, are you sure you're not Italian? Definitely a keeper -- thank you, Lisa!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 3,109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Chicken Marsala

This amazing, company-worthy chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States