Chicken Marsala with Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I have made this twice now - second time with some changes that were recommened in previous reviews. (1) Re: the flour. Just lightly dust chicken in flour seasoned w/ salt & pepper. No specific amt - just what it takes to dust chicken. Fry in some butter & olive oil and put aside. Then gently fry the mushrooms and garlic- adding a tad more olive oil and butter and, yes, I added about 7 chopped garlic cloves. This mixture can be put in the frig until your ready to make the gravy! (2) Re: the gravy - the receipe uses waaaaaaaay to much flour - which is why others had to add more beef stock and Marsala. You only need 2T. flour to each 1 cup liquid - so base your broth & wine accordingly (more gravy requires more flour and liquid). AND, 2T flour requires 2T of fat (butter/oil combo). Once the flour has been blended into the fat over low heat, stir until smooth and bubby - add liquid, salt and pepper to taste, stirring constantly. I did NOT use any browning liquid. Add chicken/mushrooms/ garlic, cover and put in 350 oven for 25 minutes! Your company can be eating their salad during this time. Delicious!!!!! Need more spices - just add what you like. I took the suggestion of adding basil. 3: Some also said the entree was bland - I took the suggestion of soaking the thin spaghetti noodles in the spice/oil/water combo prior to boiling - FANTASTIC! The nice thing with this dish is that most can be made ahead - as the restaurants do! This is a keeper for me since we do a lot o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I thought this recipe was awesome! I'm new to cooking with red and white wines so this was a nice springboard for me. Sadly, the man I cook for isn't into mushrooms (he has simple taste buds) so I ended up swapping them out for broccoli (his favorite) and it still tasted great. I did take a few suggestions from other people who suggested adding seasonings and more Marsala wine. I sprinkled some Oregano and added a dash of Basil to the sauce after adding the broccoli. I served it on top of thin spaghetti noodles which were soaked and boiled in water with basil, oregano, pepper, a little salt, onion powder, olive oil, small slice of butter, and some Thyme. I think the seasoned noodles complimented the dish well. Like most of my sauces, I still had difficulty making it thicken. But that's me, not the recipe. ^_^ Thanks for posting this! I really appreciate it! My boyfriend loved it and I can't wait to share it with his family. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SakuraBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This is the best Chicken Marsala I have ever tasted. My entire family loves this recipe. I would suggest trying Wild Pheasant breasts in place of chicken breast, you will be equally pleased with this recipe. I also on occasion use baby bella mushrooms they are more mild and my husband does not like Portobello mushrooms and the baby bellas are a hit. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This is a really great recipe, but I had to tweak it a bit to my family's liking. We love Macaroni Grill's version and this was close. I ended up doubling the amount of boullion and Marsala (sauce was too thick and to make more sauce) and browned about 12 garlic gloves, some sliced, some whole (they way they do at the Grill). When I tasted the sauce, it was missing something. I added about 3 T of honey to sweeten it up a bit, it worked! Family loved it. Also, to speed things up, I was browning the chicken while cooking the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
AMAZING! I omitted the browning sauce, and I browned garlic cloves with the mushrooms (like 7-10 cloves). I also use cooking marsala wine...and anyway it's simply FABULOUS, I'm addicted to Macaroni Grill's Chicken Marsala, and this is the ONLY recipe I've found that even comes close. I also substituted White mushrooms instead of portobello ones, and didn't even notice any flavor difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
The chicken was great tender and juicy, I have never had portabello mushrooms before and I thought they were fantastic. Only thing is no directs with the flour so winged it and too thick also kinda salty won't use boulian again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greeley, Colorado, USA
Living In: Kersey, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I don't know if I messed it up or what, but it just tasted like brown gravy over chicken and mushrooms to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I made this recipe last night and my husband and I loved it! I will say the browning sauce was hard to find (because it didn't clearly state what it was). The flour totally threw me off like most. At first I ended up with a mashed potatoes lokking flour mess. I had to go back to the grocery store and buy more flour, broth & garlic (because I had just enough for one time). I didn't use Kosher salt. I used Lawry's instead (sparingly so it wouldn't make it to salty). I used it with egg noodles and a salad! Marvelous with a little tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by obgynrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This recipe is easy and delicious! Chicken was so tender and juicy, and the sauce was out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States