Chicken Marsala II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
This was my first attempt making chicken marsala. After viewing a few different recipes, I incorporated a few tips into this one. I doubled up on the sauce and added a cup of chicken broth, because I used real marsala wine and using that alone gave it a real strong liquor taste. I also used a combination of fresh mushrooms and baby portabella mushrooms. Instead of cornstarch, I used Wondra flour for sauces that you can just sprinkle in to thicken it. I also pounded the chicken to make it real thin. We have an Italian restaurant near us that we always go to to get this dish and my daughter raved that mine was even better. I served it with penne pasta with marinara sauce. Thanks for this excellent recipe, I know I will be making it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
This was good, but after this time I will double or even triple the sauce and mushrooms as someone had suggested because there wasn't enough for the chicken. Great recipe and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I dipped my chicken into egg and then seasoned flour. I browned the chicken very well and placed it in a large casserole dish as I had twelve breasts. I made my sauce separately, which by the way was tripled . I also needed to add additional marsala. I covered the casserole and placed it in the oven for about forty five minutes. Great birthday dinner for my daughter which everyone loved. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
I THOUGHT THIS RECIPE WAS DELICIOUS!! SO DID MY HUSBAND. THE KIDS DID NOT EAT THE MUSHROOMS... BUT LOVED THE CHICKEN. I REALLY DONT KNOW WHAT THE PURPOSE OF THE BACON WAS... THERE WERE NO INSTRUCTIONS EXCEPT TO COOK THE BACON. I ASSUME ITS FOR THE FLAVOR. I ALSO WANT TO ADD THAT AFTER I CREATED THE SAUCE IN THE PAN, I PUT THE CHICKEN IN ALONG WITH THE SAUCE AND MUSHROOMS. IT THICKENED IT UP ALITTLE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
This was great! I did make a few changes though. I didn't flour the chicken, I just browned it in butter. And I don't like to cook with wine so I just used chicken stock instead. It turned out excellent! Will definitly add this to my tried and true recipes and make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Way to go Courtney! This was great! I used cooking Marsala wine and doubled the sauce and mushrooms and served it for company on top of Mashed potatoes. BIG BIG HIT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
You'll be much happier with the flavor of this dish if you use sweet marsala rather than dry. This recipe is equally good with veal instead of chicken! I make extra sauce and serve with wide egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
WOW! Very yummy! I didn't have any bacon or marsala wine...used sliced ham and merlot instead...it came out great. My friend's husband is a very picky eater and he loved it. Next time I'm going to double the sauce recipe, it would have been nice to have more. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
For such a simple easy recipe, this is absolutely fabulous!!! It's even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
So, so -- the taste was ok, but I didn't like the flour on the chicken breasts. Made a soggy coating when the sauce was added. Next time I'll just brown them without dredging the chicken in flour. The flavor was good though, so I'll try this again but tweak it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Chicken Marsala

This amazing, company-worthy chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States