Chicken Marsala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
After trying this in a local itallian restaraunt, I wanted to try it at home. After reading several recipes, I selected this one because of the thickened sauce. This was as good as the restaraunt's chicken! I could only find Marsala Cooking wine, so I left out the salt-because the cooking wine is salty enough. I doubled the sauce so there was enough for the pasta, and made crusty garlic bread to go with. Wonderful, and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lebanon, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
For heaven's sake... DON'T use cooking wine. If you wouldn't drink it, you shouldn't cook with it. You can buy a decent Marsala for under $10. I use Conti-Royale. The next day I use the leftover Marsala to make a killer French Onion Soup. Fresh mushrooms and FRESH basil really make this dish pop, and I always add a couple cloves of minced garlic and a few tablespoons of finely diced onion with the mushrooms. I've also played with the sauce and served it over pork and beef, switching it up with red wine, white wine, roasted peppers, and sliced onions. So easy to dress up dinner with a quick wine sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Titusville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Amazing recipe! The sauce was very flavorful and creamy, but not too heavy. I would recommend doubling the sauce ingredients, though. It came up a little short. I served this with egg noodles instead of linguine. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Delicious flavor, but the recipe instructions are a little misleading. After adding the wine, it should simmer longer than 2 minutes, otherwise the alcohol doesn't cook off and it tastes too boozy. Marsala can be strong, so it needs time to settle in with the rest of the flavors. Like the other reviewers, I doubled the sauce. There's enough for the chicken, but we wanted extra to put over angel hair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This recipe has been the talk of my weekend and week. I made it last Friday and my family is still salivating over it! The chicken was so flavorful..if you want an easy baked/fried chicken taste..this works. I served over linguine with salad as the starter. You definitely need to double the sauce ingredients...You'll have just enough to drizzle on the pasta. I may triple it next time because we are saucey tips. Loved this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This was good. A little boozy-tasting for me, even after cooking for a while, so I mellowed it with a little chicken broth at the end, and it turned out fine. My husband is a big Marsala fan and he really loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
DO NOT USE CHEAP MARSALA!!! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen V,LMT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Graniteville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I have made this 4-5 times now and it is amazing! It is excellent made with pork tenderloin too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I gave it four stars because my husband really loved it. It seemed a little salty to me, however. This may have been because I used cooking wine. I would also recommend low-sodium broth. If it needs a little punch, just add the salt yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernal, Utah, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jax
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
We didn't really care for the sauce, very strong wine flavor even after simmering it for a long time. We usually like wine sauces, so I guess Marsala wine just isn't a favorite for us. My son loved the chicken without the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jax
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Marsala

This amazing, company-worthy chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chicken Fried Chicken

Have the kids help you make this tasty fried chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States