Chicken Mango Salsa Salad with Chipotle Lime Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I am the submitter of this recipe. It is one of my all-time favorite recipes. I created this the day after a fajita dinner with mango salsa. So the salsa was pre made and the bell peppers were already chopped. So it was only a matter of assembly. It is a great way to use leftovers. It tastes great with leftover rotisserie chicken, fajita chicken or blackened chicken. In Texas there is a chain of grocery stores that makes a great mango salsa and also sells a package of pre-chopped three color peppers that can be used as a short-cut. Either from scratch or using short-cuts the salad is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Pretty darn good recipe. Definitely worth making again. I recommend using Heirloom tomatoes instead of Roma. I also recommend getting the freshest, juiciest mango you can and then, lastly, I recommend using red onion, but I bet green onion works well, too. By the way, in an effort to save fat and calories, I used chicken broth instead of olive oil for the dressing and skipped the sugar, and I didn't miss a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Wow, this salad tastes great and is so tropical - but gets 4 stars for being time consuming and expensive to make! I changed a few things up, but kept most ingredients the same. I made the mango salsa as the recipe stated, and cooked the chicken breast with citrus pepper seasoning. Instead of the dressing recipe, I substituted Newman's Own Light Lime vinaigrette. I still mixed up the chipotle spice mixture, but sprinkled a little of it over the top of the salad before pouring on the dressing. Last, I used a head of lettuce and mixed that with Salad Savoy for some crunch, instead of the spinach & coleslaw mix. I only used red bell peppers instead of all 3 colors (because of the cost). It is a pretty impressive dish to serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Amazing salad, lots of flavor. Takes lots of work but worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenifaOHjenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
AMAZING!!! Must have. I now use the salad dressing for other salads as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I thought this was very good and healthy. I did chop all the veggies the day before to save time. Grilled the chicken and it was delish! Also, it didn't specify the type of onion so I used red and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly - it has a wonderful medly of flavors. Next time I may chop up and add some iceberg lettuce just to give it a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I only made the dressing to go on BBQ salmon with mango salsa. I made a salad and added black beans, onion, and avocado. It was a huge hit and went great with the mango salsa. I will definitely try it following this recipe with the chicken. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I was a little nervous to try this salad and it was definitely time consuming....but WOW it was worth it! Loved it! I kept all the phases (dressing, mango salsa) in separate bowls so the leftovers will stay fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Definitely took longer than 30 mins. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States