Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
As always using what was available at my house. And note I use whole cans, I hate waste or trying to put away half a can of something. Used chicken breast, diced tomatoes and coconut milk added steamed green beans at the end to boost veg (could serve on the side but why?)Otherwise methods and other ingredients and spices were the same. Hubby loved it and my house smells great on a rainy night in May-Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momofone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I love this recipe. It's not quite like the stuff at the restaurants, but it's very good. I make it frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY217

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Not my flavor at all. I wanted to try indian food so I gave this a try and I guess maybe the peanuts were just clashing with everything else. I wont make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashliev

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Followed suggestions and made a couple of substitutions based on what was on hand. Used tomato paste (2-3 tb), 1/4 cup of ground cashews in lieu of corn starch, added about 1/4-1/2 tsp ground coriander. And used fat free greek yogurt. Also just used mincend garlic (2 cloves) and about an inch of grated ginger instead of the ginger/garlic paste. When I tasted the sauce at first, it didn't seem very flavorful, but somehow, by the time it was mixed with the chicken and done simmering, it had turned into an amazing combination of flavors...very close to the familiar restaurant taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
LOVE this recipe!! The only thing that I change is the yogurt...I use Chobani coconut yogurt instead of plain...adds a bit of a sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marinewife1999
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This was delicious. I made a few changes. First, I substituted ghee for the peanut oil, and used heavy whipping cream instead of half and half. The heavy cream thickened the sauce perfectly so I omitted the corn starch and water at the end. I also marinated my chicken overnight in Greek yogurt and a mixture of all the spices used in the recipe. This made all the difference in the world. The chicken was flavorful and tender. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I made this last night for my boyfriend and he loved it! However, I noticed the minor things in the sauce because I tried it along the way as I was making it. I really disliked the cornstarch because it made the dish gritty. Next time I will try using crushed cashews like one reviewer mentioned. It wasn't as tangy or creamy, but Had more of a dull flavor. I'm not sure if it has to do with the tomato purée I used or what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This tasted fantastic. I did use a 3 pound bag of boneless, skinless chicken thighs and stretched, probably doubled, the sauce. As the chicken was browning I spooned off quite a bit of the liquid that cooked out so that it would cook a little faster and brown a bit. Used minced fresh garlic and ginger in equal proportions for the ginger garlic paste. Do not double the cornstarch as it would end up too thick. Served this with Baingan Bharta from this site as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Harden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 779) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States