Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I made this last night for my boyfriend and he loved it! However, I noticed the minor things in the sauce because I tried it along the way as I was making it. I really disliked the cornstarch because it made the dish gritty. Next time I will try using crushed cashews like one reviewer mentioned. I also felt like something was missing in this dish as it was not as delicious as they chicken makhani I get at my local Indian restaurant. It wasn't as tangy or creamy, but Had more of a dull flavor. I'm not sure if it has to do with the tomato purée I used or what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This tasted fantastic. I did use a 3 pound bag of boneless, skinless chicken thighs and stretched, probably doubled, the sauce. As the chicken was browning I spooned off quite a bit of the liquid that cooked out so that it would cook a little faster and brown a bit. Used minced fresh garlic and ginger in equal proportions for the ginger garlic paste. Do not double the cornstarch as it would end up too thick. Served this with Baingan Bharta from this site as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Harden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Good recipe, i used a cup of yogurt for a velvety texture and would recommend marinating the chicken ahead of time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
i made this using a sauce i found online at spicemode i used the masala sauce instead of chopping onions, garlic and ginger. It saved me a ton of itme and kept my fingers from smelling. the sauce had garam masala and spices already in it. saved me 30 mins and came out amazing. my wife loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I make a lot of Indian food, and this is a pretty good recipe. A couple of suggestions. A lot of people seem confused by tomato puree. This is not tomato paste, and not tomato sauce. You sometimes see it in the grocery store as passata, or as strained tomatoes. Makes a big difference. Also, just skip the chili powder. Use fresh garlic and ginger. And if you want that yellowy restaurant look, add a tbsp of turmeric. I use leftover roast chicken, and it turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I substituted buttermilk for yogurt, because I didn't have any, and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
It was success ! And delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
The recipe turned out great. I was expecting it to be more spicy. Will definitely make it again but just add more cumin i guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle MC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 773) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States