Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Fabulous recipe. I've made it at least 3 times. I substitute onions for shallots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I've made this many times - we all love it! Lately we've been eating healthier so this time I made a few changes. I didn't use any butter - I used a 7 oz container of fat free greek yogurt & the juice of a whole lemon. I also added 1/2 cup low sodium chicken broth instead of cream. It was even better & tangier than the full fat version! I didn't use cornstarch and it was very thick & creamy. I also added chopped fresh baby spinach for color. Will make it this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rainess Jordan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Very good, but needed a little fresh cilatro stirred in at the end. Also, as another reviewer mentioned, sauce is thick enough but if you wanted to add the water and a thickener, go with ground cashews. I like my Indian dishes fairly hot, so I increased the cayenne and I also added an additional tsp of Garam Masala to intensify the flavor. All in all, a very nice recipe that I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond Hill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I have had some problems with the dairy breaking but my whole family loves this recipe! I have followed the few suggestions to make it more authentic, I have fenugreek, and ground cashews. I also added corriander. Today I am letting the chicken sit in the spices before cooking. I would love more easy Indian recipes like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
What a wonderful recipe! Thank you! I had Butter Chicken in Toronto 4 years ago and my taste buds have never been the same. It seemed too hard a recipe to replicate so I never bothered and settled for Butter Chicken sauce-in-a-jar. This year I'm fearless in the kitchen! This recipe made it so easy. My husband and sons loved it! My hubby said, "Now that I KNOW, you can make it, expect me to ask for it a lot! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Very good - This recipe was so easy to make once I had the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Not bad dish but wasn't what I was looking for... I was looking for some butter chicken (curry) recipe and this one tasted more like a tomato stew to me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ctor88
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Uhh.. Came out AWESOME, loved it and my manz loved it too 8D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight, along with some Aloo Phujia, and really enjoyed this dish. Even my teenage nephew, who is a typical teenage picky eater, really liked this dish. I live in very rural Maine and the nearest Indian restaurant is 100 miles away, so I've taken to cooking Indian food at home. It was a bit too spicy for my sister and brother in law's tastes, so if you're looking for a mild dish, cut back on the chilli pepper( I use Nirav brand Reshampatti Chilli Powder. Like others I doctored it a bit using more yogurt and heavy cream which I pureed with almonds to make a thickener for the sauce rather than cornstarch. An Indian friend's mom told me that's how she thickens sauces, using almonds or cashews pureed in the blender with yogurt and heavy cream. I also added about 4 tablespoons of brown sugar to cut the acid of the tomato puree saves on the late night acid reflux. I'm betting the left overs will be even better as everything merges overnight. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 744) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States