Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This recipe is so good! Our kids would eat it every night if they could! I don't bother with two pans. I just brown the chicken with the dry spices first then throw in the rest of the ingredients. I also use vegetable oil instead of peanut oil and fresh ginger and garlic instead of the paste. It's easy and comes out great! We serve this with paratha that we buy frozen at our nearby Indian Grocery store. Add a salad and it is a wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Best Indian chicken! I used whipping cream instead of yogurt because that's what I had. Oh my God it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dockgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I make this in the crockpot and it always comes out delicious! No need for all the sauteing. I put chicken breasts in the pot along with many of the other ingredients and cook on low for 5-6 hours. I dice the chicken up before serving. I add the lemon, butter, yogurt and half-and-half at the end too, about 15 minutes before serving, so the flavors remain fresh. Serve this with homemade naan, if your feeling adventurous, and a side of rice and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2cook2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharleen Antonio Bailey
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Love this recipe. Doesn't taste like restaurant quality but for a first time trying my hand at Indian food this came out perfect. My husband liked it and he doesn't like anything with a tomato base in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharleen Antonio Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: West Columbia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
After browning the chicken, I added the garam masala and cayenne. I let the spices heat up and toast a little, which made the cayenne come to life! Great way to get more heat! I followed another reviewer's idea to use tomato paste instead of puree + water + cornstarch. Served this over steamed cauliflower for a low carb dinner. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
It is rather delicious, but it seemed to be missing something to take it over the edge. Not sure what that would be... Maybe something slightly smoky or rich or a different curry powder? Overall still good curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
YUM!! Hubby made this using the Easy Garam Marsala recipe also on this site. He made a few adjustments, using 1/2 an onion insteaad of 1/4, 2 t of chili powder, 1/2 t cayenne pepper and a 15 oz can of tomato sauce instead of the 1 cup of tomato puree and omitted the water. I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Excellent recipe. After eating this throughout India, I never thought I could duplicate all the wonderful food I had there. Thank you for posting this! Is was easy and tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I followed a lot of the reviews and made some slight adjustments. I added more garlic, garam marsala and more tomato puree. This is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdriggs13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Wow - this is so flavorful and true comfort food. I added extra cayenne pepper and the heat was just perfect. So quick to make and it tasted as if it had simmered for a long time. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 762) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States