Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I eat East Indian cuisine on almost a daily basis. I have tried many recipes online and often find that they are lacking in flavour and that they do not taste authentic. This recipe however... It is nothing short of phenomenal. I did not use the cornstarch (I don't think that cornstarch is a traditional ingredient), once the sauce cooked down I thought it had a very nice consistency so I let it be. I would highly recommend this recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was yummy. I used marinade from shish tawook grilled chicken because I'm a fan of that recipe and had 2 containers of greek yogurt to use up. I used fresh garlic and ginger and also probably added more than 1 cup of tomato sauce, then a whole single serving contanier of plain greek yogurt and then added 1/2 and 1/2 until I was pleased with consistency (didn't use cornstarch slurry). Served with rice and naan. Also I grilled one bell pepper and onion while I grilled the chicken and sliced the charred veggies and added to sauce with chicken. I was going to serve seperate but my husband likes everything mixed together, and it was a nice addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef_G
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This recipe is very easy to make and delicious! I added 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper (because we love our Indian food to be very hot!), 1 tsp of grounded coriander, and doubled the amount of ginger garlic. I'll make this again, undoubtedly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This is awesome! Made it for family and friends and everyone loved it! Made is exactly as the recipe said (x4!!)... fed 14 of us and had plenty of leftovers. Didn't have ginger-garlic paste so just used half ginger and half garlic. Will definitly be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jayeltee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I doubled the amount of ginger garlic paste, added cumin and replaced 1/4 cup of the half and half with heavy cream. I didn't need the cornstarch and didn't add any ground nuts because my husband is allergic. I also added 1/4 tsp of ground fenugreek seeds thanks to a suggestion here. It was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Delicious! Butter chicken is one of my favorite Indian dishes and I love its creaminess and full flavor. I've made this recipe twice, with a few small tweaks, and have loved it both times. I use fresh ginger and 1 clove of garlic (grated) instead of the pre-made paste, though if you're in a bind you can also use ginger and garlic powder instead. The flavors won't be as deep, but it works. Also, instead of yogurt and half and half I have used 1 cup of heavy whipping cream, which adds enough thickness to the sauce that it doesn't need cornstarch. I haven't tried many versions of Butter Chicken, but this is a recipe I believe I will come back to over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Fantastic! I have tried I don't know how many butter chicken recipes and they never quite hit this mark - but this one DID!! Thanks for the great hints from everyone. I used the recipe pretty much as it - only adding in 1/4 teas of Methi (Fenugreek to the spice fry) and 1 teas of Coriander ground. I didn't have a shallot, so I used 1/2 an onion instead. I also added in the 1/4 of a cup of ground cashew nuts, instead of the cornflour and water. I also used full cream - 1 cup and a 1/4 cup of yoghurt. These things really made it work. Really really yummy. Definitely restaurant quality. Thanks so much. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I have made this recipe many times and my family and friends love it! I made my own tomato puree in my food processor and made my own ginger/garlic paste and it always is so YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pantera nera

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This Recipe is really good. I normally use fat-free for both the yogurt and the half/half. I also have done this with both dark meat and white meat. I personally prefer the white meat. Also makes it a little healthier. I like that this recipe is adjustable. I am not a huge fan of cumin but I love my food spicy so I adjust it just a little every time. I have only tried Indian Food a few times, and this was the first I ever tried to make myself. Obviously, not a good judge of authenticity, but it is a yummy dish nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 737) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States