Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Ctor88
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Uhh.. Came out AWESOME, loved it and my manz loved it too 8D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight, along with some Aloo Phujia, and really enjoyed this dish. Even my teenage nephew, who is a typical teenage picky eater, really liked this dish. I live in very rural Maine and the nearest Indian restaurant is 100 miles away, so I've taken to cooking Indian food at home. It was a bit too spicy for my sister and brother in law's tastes, so if you're looking for a mild dish, cut back on the chilli pepper( I use Nirav brand Reshampatti Chilli Powder. Like others I doctored it a bit using more yogurt and heavy cream which I pureed with almonds to make a thickener for the sauce rather than cornstarch. An Indian friend's mom told me that's how she thickens sauces, using almonds or cashews pureed in the blender with yogurt and heavy cream. I also added about 4 tablespoons of brown sugar to cut the acid of the tomato puree saves on the late night acid reflux. I'm betting the left overs will be even better as everything merges overnight. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Needs more spice. Added more cumin and garam masala. Also used coriander and fenugreek. Thickened with ground cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
First time I tried making butter chicken I hated it!!! But this recipe was AMAZING! It is also lower in calories, fat, etc than other recipes but SO FULL OF FLAVOR! It wasn't as spicy as our typical tikka masala, definitely a nice change. Only change to the recipe was fresh garlic and powder ginger because that's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I lived in Dubai for a year and half which is where I tried this dish first. A recipe I picked up at the local supermarket there noted coconut milk instead of half and half. We make your recipe (slightly different from above) often and have noticed also too much sauce not enough chicken. I doubled the amount of chicken and kept the amount of sauce the same. We can't handle spicy food with 2 kids so I decreased the amount of cayenne and left out the cumin as it takes days for the house to air out. With all these changes, it still tastes pretty good. I hope I haven't drastically massacred your masterpiece :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Too bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Very good! I used 3 things slightly different - 1% milk not h&h, plain Greek yogurt as that's all I had ,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by valajul
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Exactly like the one I tried and loved in an authentic Indian restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Fantastic. We used the cashews as recommended by others, in lieu of starch. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I made a delicious chicken makhani using this recipe as a starting point (managed to please an Indian friend). However, this recipe on its own is missing a few necessary components without which this just does not work at all. 1. (and most importantly) - Brown Sugar!!! There's no sugar in this recipe and chicken makhani is a sweet, spicy dish. 2. Fenugreek seed (another commenter put me on to this - good call). 3. Double the garam masala (at least) and cayenne pepper. 4. Coconut milk is not essential, but it changed the dish from fantastic to perfect. I didn't end up needing to add cornstarch, the consistency was perfect on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 766) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States