Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by valajul
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Exactly like the one I tried and loved in an authentic Indian restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Fantastic. We used the cashews as recommended by others, in lieu of starch. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I made a delicious chicken makhani using this recipe as a starting point (managed to please an Indian friend). However, this recipe on its own is missing a few necessary components without which this just does not work at all. 1. (and most importantly) - Brown Sugar!!! There's no sugar in this recipe and chicken makhani is a sweet, spicy dish. 2. Fenugreek seed (another commenter put me on to this - good call). 3. Double the garam masala (at least) and cayenne pepper. 4. Coconut milk is not essential, but it changed the dish from fantastic to perfect. I didn't end up needing to add cornstarch, the consistency was perfect on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Perfect recipe! I'm not indian but i absolutely love this dish!! Love all indian food and their culture. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Amazing! Tastes almost like the best Indian restaurant back home. I would suggest cutting all the spices in half (for people who aren't into a lot of spice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I marinated the chicken in lemon juice and then in yogurt with tandoori spice. I think next time I would Brown the chicken in the oven. I also added coriander and fenugreek leaves to the sauce in addition to the other spices. Was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Ridge, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This was really good, loved the Garam Marsala. I used 1/2 cup of paste in place of the purée. Also cut back a bit on chili powder and cayenne, as kids don't like spicy food. Also left out the water and cornstarch...as it was thick enough. Also added a bit of milk to make it a bit creamier. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Awesome recipe. VERY close to our local Indian restaurant version. I added some unsalted cashews to the sauce as it simmered to mimic other versions I've had. This one is definitely going into regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Delicious! I had a serious craving for butter chicken, and this recipe satisfied it! I did a little testing with the sauce to see what tasted best to thicken it... ground cashews all the way!I also added the fenugreek seeds recommended by one reviewer. I can't say with any certainty whether or not they made the recipe any better, but I went to the bulk store to buy a small amount, and once I smelled them, I immediately thought of authentic Indian cuisine. I'm going to assume that these must have improved things. That being said, I rated this recipe a 4 star, as written. With the ground cashews and fenugreek, it was 5 star deliciousness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purple_inferno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Very good and its so quick, it is well worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 749) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States