Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
First time I tried making butter chicken I hated it!!! But this recipe was AMAZING! It is also lower in calories, fat, etc than other recipes but SO FULL OF FLAVOR! It wasn't as spicy as our typical tikka masala, definitely a nice change. Only change to the recipe was fresh garlic and powder ginger because that's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I lived in Dubai for a year and half which is where I tried this dish first. A recipe I picked up at the local supermarket there noted coconut milk instead of half and half. We make your recipe (slightly different from above) often and have noticed also too much sauce not enough chicken. I doubled the amount of chicken and kept the amount of sauce the same. We can't handle spicy food with 2 kids so I decreased the amount of cayenne and left out the cumin as it takes days for the house to air out. With all these changes, it still tastes pretty good. I hope I haven't drastically massacred your masterpiece :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Too bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Very good! I used 3 things slightly different - 1% milk not h&h, plain Greek yogurt as that's all I had ,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by valajul
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Exactly like the one I tried and loved in an authentic Indian restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Fantastic. We used the cashews as recommended by others, in lieu of starch. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I made a delicious chicken makhani using this recipe as a starting point (managed to please an Indian friend). However, this recipe on its own is missing a few necessary components without which this just does not work at all. 1. (and most importantly) - Brown Sugar!!! There's no sugar in this recipe and chicken makhani is a sweet, spicy dish. 2. Fenugreek seed (another commenter put me on to this - good call). 3. Double the garam masala (at least) and cayenne pepper. 4. Coconut milk is not essential, but it changed the dish from fantastic to perfect. I didn't end up needing to add cornstarch, the consistency was perfect on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Perfect recipe! I'm not indian but i absolutely love this dish!! Love all indian food and their culture. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Amazing! Tastes almost like the best Indian restaurant back home. I would suggest cutting all the spices in half (for people who aren't into a lot of spice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I marinated the chicken in lemon juice and then in yogurt with tandoori spice. I think next time I would Brown the chicken in the oven. I also added coriander and fenugreek leaves to the sauce in addition to the other spices. Was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Ridge, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 753) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States