Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This was excellent! I followed the advice of the reviewers and I substituted ground almonds for the cornstarch/water slurry (my son is allergic to cashews) and I also added 1/2 tsp of ground coriander. Used fresh garlic and ginger - so I tripled that and I ended up doubling the garam masala. This is as good as any restaurant dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rileychica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
The tastiest butter chicken recipe. Fun for the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hwyfuzz
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I made sushi rice with this, and shaped the sushi rice into a sphere by packing it into a pudding dish, flipping it over in the middle of the plate. I then ladled the Makhani over the rice and served with to Naan. I suggest a bit more salt and more Cayenne than less. I an going to an Indian food store to see if I can get prepared Garam Masala. I wasn't too thrilled with the thigh meat - next time I will, and suggest that white meat (boneless breast) be used. Other than that, the recipe is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I've made this the long way and this is an awesome shortcut. Used with paneer, tofu, and cauliflower. Nom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Awesome recipe, easy and quick! I wanted a healthier version of butter chicken, & this one came up in Google. The only changes I made were no butter added, and I didn't have yoghurt, so used Lite Cream instead. Was a total hit with the family, so recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Superb! My hubby thought it was the best and my 17 month old ate a ton of chicken. I didn't have shallots so just omitted. I didn't have half-and-half so just used my 1% milk and that turned out fine. I didn't know what garam masala was but there is a recipe for it called Easy Garam Masala here on AllRecipes. I didn't have the coriander, cardamom, or cloves but it seemed perfectly fine without. I will have to stock up my spice pantry more. I also didn't have peanut oil so I just used canola. I had it with rice and naan (also found recipe for that here)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This recipe is wonderful with spinach and shrimp! Ground cashews make this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
needs the "most helpful" suggestions to be 5 stars but wow with those... mmm, mmm, good! I of course kicked mine up a notch and made other modification according to what was in my cub-boards but this is a keeper! Will make often :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARCIA99116

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fortville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
There is a restaurant near us that makes the most amazing butter chicken ever! This is pretty close, which is saying a lot considering I've rarely made Indian food. I used some of the suggestions and used ground cashews instead of cornstarch. I think they added an ice flavor. I also added coriander, and I added a pinch of sugar because the butter chicken I like is kind of sweet. I think I will add a little more sugar next time. It also wasn't spicy enough for our liking, so next time I will add more cayenne. We served it over coconut rice which complemented it quite well. Overall a very good recipe and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Excellent! I love Indian food, but have never attempted this at home until now. It was really an easy recipe...full of flavor - YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 738) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States