Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
The first time I made this recipe, the gravy was loved wayy more than the chicken - the common complaint was that the chicken seemed a little too flavour-less. The next time I made the dish, I marinated the chicken as follows: "1 tbsp ginger-garlic paste, 1/2 tsp red chilli powder, 1 tsp garam masala, 1-2 tbsp lemon juice, 3/4 cup yoghurt, 4 tbsp vegetable oil, 2 tbsps finely chopped fresh cilantro, salt to taste. Combine all of the above, add the chicken, and mix until evenly coated. Refrigerate overnight or for a minimum of 4 hours. Grill or shallow fry chicken until tender and fully cooked.' Once I had prepared the chicken, I followed this recipe exactly as is. Marinating the chicken made this dish delicious beyond words and was much loved by all who tasted it. I realise, that marinating the chicken changes up the recipe quite a bit, but not marinating the chicken just didn't give it the oomph it required. Once marinated, this recipe becomes a 5 star recipe. Thank you Mitchman21 for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I tried this recipe and it tastes great! As soon as I added the tomato puree and yogurt the color turned a rich golden orange shade. I finally know how to make Indian sauce! My only advise is to watch out for the Tumeric seasoning. Do not spill any on the counter because it will turn your kitchen counter yellow. It took bleach to get it out. This yellow stays on for days. Other than that this is a great recipe and my husband loved it! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This was a good Indian recipe that is very filling. I'd recommend the following to spice it up even more: 1. Triple the ginger garlic paste 2. Quadruple the cayenne pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tod E. Lewis, P.E.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Wow! Loved this recipe! I did make a few changes though.. I used more yogurt and less 1/2 and 1/2 to make it healthier. I also added some cardamom seeds to give it more of an authentic Indian kick. I passed on the cornstarch and used grated up cashews and almonds to thicken the sauce. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I recently tried Indian cuisine for the first time at an authentic Indian restaurant. I ordered the Chicken Makhani and was thoroughly impressed with its taste. I thought to my self, “I have to replicate this”. So I searched All Recipes for the best rated Chicken Makhani recipe and came across this recipe. I can say for a fact that this recipe is absolutely SPOT ON for its flavor and consistency. I followed the recipe to the letter and discovered that the spices called for here create a very natural heat. The sauce starts our creamy and delicious and the heat just creeps right up on you. I used Garam Masala for the first time and completely fell in love with its flavors. The spice is not at all overpowering to the palette. Excellent recipe. I WILL be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
My husband is from India and I am from Colombia. This is my first time making this dish for him and he loved it. It also got the stamp of approval from my eldest daughter who loves indian food. I did not use any hot peppers however, because of my youngest child. It was still very tasty. My mother-in-law will be proud of me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I've been eating butter chicken made by the Indian family I work for for years. I also get it every time I visit an Indian restaurant. I decided I'd finally try this on my own and was a little disappointed. I made this exactly like the recipe calls for: with ginger garlic paste I bought from my local Indian mart, and the end result pretty bland. In fact, it didn't taste authentic or even close to Indian, it tasted like an creamy red pasta sauce for an Italian dish! I'm sure I didn't do anything wrong. So I tripled the amount of garlic ginger paste and added more and more garam masala until it tasted Indian. Which it finally did, but only with my alterations. In the end, it tasted pretty good but nothing like the butter chicken I'm used to. I think that I will follow other people's suggestions next time: with real ginger, garlic, cashew, and fenugreek.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This recipe is so good! Our kids would eat it every night if they could! I don't bother with two pans. I just brown the chicken with the dry spices first then throw in the rest of the ingredients. I also use vegetable oil instead of peanut oil and fresh ginger and garlic instead of the paste. It's easy and comes out great! We serve this with paratha that we buy frozen at our nearby Indian Grocery store. Add a salad and it is a wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Best Indian chicken! I used whipping cream instead of yogurt because that's what I had. Oh my God it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dockgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 750) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States