Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I love this recipe! My Boyfriend lived in China for a long time and had mentioned that the one thing he missed the most was getting chicken Makhani from a indian family there... I was so excited to make this for him because i have made this recipe so many times before and recommended it to many of my friends. My boyfriend is head over heels for this recipe! He said it tasted even better then what he got back in China- I guess thats the key to a mans heart! ANYWAYS- I modify the recipe very slightly putting more garlic and ginger and putting that in my food processer to get a nice texture... i also put my onions in there too... laziness... possibly?... I Also marinade my chicken for a few hours beforehand in a mixture of cayenne, salt, pepper, garam masala and a very little bit of chicken broth and tomatoe juice... so the spices can adhere and really penitrate the meat... I also used buttercream instead of Half and half - which didnt turn out horribly but i wish i would of bought the half and half...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Delicious and easy to make. Served with rice and some naan to soak up the sauce. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This is the best of all of the Butter Chicken recipes I've tried. I did follow suggestions and left out the corn starch. Instead I took about 1/2 cup of the sauce and pureed it with 1/2 c. roasted cashews and then stirred that back into the sauce and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieCooks

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
My whole family liked it. I Loved it. I was so proud to have prepared such a good Indian dish for my family. I might double the amount of Garam masala, just to give it more of a kick. This recipe is a keeper, and I will be making it again soon! Best recipe (Hands Down) that I have made in a while. Thanks very much for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I tried this recipe last night and it was delicious....I was thrilled with the results. To make it low carb I used tomato paste instead of tomato puree, used 1/4 cup of full cream, no yoghurt or half and half. I did not add water but instead used the juice that had cooked out of the chicken. I did not add cornstarch. The tomato paste was thick enough to make the consistency perfect. This is an amazing recipe and probably the most adventurous recipe I have ever tried in my life...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
For my first attempt EVER at making any kind of Indian cuisine I must say this was AMAZING! I did follow the advice of both AMIBOULD and YAKUTA. My husband loved the dish and while cooking it my dogs would not leave the kitchen hoping for something to drop. I will defiantly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This Butter Chicken turned out very badly. It tasted more like a tomato sauce. The sour cream didn't blend well. And it wasn't thick enough. There's another recipe on the site call "Easy Indian Butter Chicken" that tastes great when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I've just finished making this. It has turned out to be delicious after initially thinking it would be a disaster. I had forgotten to buy butter and peanut oil. I used instead olive oil spread :O and it didn't have a bad effect. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Devon, England, U.K.
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This recipe came out perfect! I didn't even need to add the cornstarch. I chopped the onion, garlic and ginger finely in a food processor which made the sauce nice and thick. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
The first time I made this recipe, the gravy was loved wayy more than the chicken - the common complaint was that the chicken seemed a little too flavour-less. The next time I made the dish, I marinated the chicken as follows: "1 tbsp ginger-garlic paste, 1/2 tsp red chilli powder, 1 tsp garam masala, 1-2 tbsp lemon juice, 3/4 cup yoghurt, 4 tbsp vegetable oil, 2 tbsps finely chopped fresh cilantro, salt to taste. Combine all of the above, add the chicken, and mix until evenly coated. Refrigerate overnight or for a minimum of 4 hours. Grill or shallow fry chicken until tender and fully cooked.' Once I had prepared the chicken, I followed this recipe exactly as is. Marinating the chicken made this dish delicious beyond words and was much loved by all who tasted it. I realise, that marinating the chicken changes up the recipe quite a bit, but not marinating the chicken just didn't give it the oomph it required. Once marinated, this recipe becomes a 5 star recipe. Thank you Mitchman21 for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 749) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States