Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I make a lot of Indian food, and this is a pretty good recipe. A couple of suggestions. A lot of people seem confused by tomato puree. This is not tomato paste, and not tomato sauce. You sometimes see it in the grocery store as passata, or as strained tomatoes. Makes a big difference. Also, just skip the chili powder. Use fresh garlic and ginger. And if you want that yellowy restaurant look, add a tbsp of turmeric. I use leftover roast chicken, and it turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I substituted buttermilk for yogurt, because I didn't have any, and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
It was success ! And delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
The recipe turned out great. I was expecting it to be more spicy. Will definitely make it again but just add more cumin i guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle MC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Great recipe. Thank you. Substituted sesame oil for peanut oil, heavy whipping cream for half n half, crushed almonds instead of corn starch, Louisiana hot sauce in place of cayenne pepper and added fresh cilantro to gravy with a very nice result. The sweetness was nice and feel that the additions got close to restaurant quality. I think next time I will add a Serrano pepper to spice it up more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curtis Hodge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
go heavy on the spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aseel A. Ghannam
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
It's absolutely amazing and so tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aseel A. Ghannam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Excellent and very easy to make. Next time I will double the recipe. Everyone wanted seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Total success ... Awesome flavor and you can add as much or as little heat as you want. The family enjoyed it so much that I was tasked to make it twice in the same week. I highly recommend .... and so does the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Wow! This is extremely close to the butter chicken from my favorite Indian restaurant. I substituted coconut cream for yogurt and half-and-half as we have a dairy allergy in our family (no need for water and cornstarch as the coconut cream is very thick), and added 1 t ground coriander. Absolutely delicious - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 777) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States