Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
The tastiest butter chicken recipe. Fun for the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vet eran (HwyFuzz)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I made sushi rice with this, and shaped the sushi rice into a sphere by packing it into a pudding dish, flipping it over in the middle of the plate. I then ladled the Makhani over the rice and served with to Naan. I suggest a bit more salt and more Cayenne than less. I an going to an Indian food store to see if I can get prepared Garam Masala. I wasn't too thrilled with the thigh meat - next time I will, and suggest that white meat (boneless breast) be used. Other than that, the recipe is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vet eran (HwyFuzz)

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I've made this the long way and this is an awesome shortcut. Used with paneer, tofu, and cauliflower. Nom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Awesome recipe, easy and quick! I wanted a healthier version of butter chicken, & this one came up in Google. The only changes I made were no butter added, and I didn't have yoghurt, so used Lite Cream instead. Was a total hit with the family, so recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Superb! My hubby thought it was the best and my 17 month old ate a ton of chicken. I didn't have shallots so just omitted. I didn't have half-and-half so just used my 1% milk and that turned out fine. I didn't know what garam masala was but there is a recipe for it called Easy Garam Masala here on AllRecipes. I didn't have the coriander, cardamom, or cloves but it seemed perfectly fine without. I will have to stock up my spice pantry more. I also didn't have peanut oil so I just used canola. I had it with rice and naan (also found recipe for that here)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla Bueckert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This recipe is wonderful with spinach and shrimp! Ground cashews make this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
needs the "most helpful" suggestions to be 5 stars but wow with those... mmm, mmm, good! I of course kicked mine up a notch and made other modification according to what was in my cub-boards but this is a keeper! Will make often :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARCIA99116

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fortville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
There is a restaurant near us that makes the most amazing butter chicken ever! This is pretty close, which is saying a lot considering I've rarely made Indian food. I used some of the suggestions and used ground cashews instead of cornstarch. I think they added an ice flavor. I also added coriander, and I added a pinch of sugar because the butter chicken I like is kind of sweet. I think I will add a little more sugar next time. It also wasn't spicy enough for our liking, so next time I will add more cayenne. We served it over coconut rice which complemented it quite well. Overall a very good recipe and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa Forbes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Excellent! I love Indian food, but have never attempted this at home until now. It was really an easy recipe...full of flavor - YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
one of our favorites. Can vary the spice for hotness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMAKOWSKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 777) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States