Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Love this recipe. It has changed quite a bit since 2004, thanks to my SIL who's from Surat: In in a bowl, grate 1/2" piece of fresh ginger and two cloves of garlic, add 1/4 ts salt, 1/4 ts dried fenugreek leaves [crushed], pinch of pepper and 1lb chicken pieces. Mix and set aside to marinate while you prepare/measure other ingredients.   Heat 2 tb of EVO in a large skillet, add the marinated chicken, cook half way through, [some pieces may be golden brown]- remove to a plate and reserve.  Melt 2-3 tablespoons of butter in same skillet, stir in 1/2 onion roughly chopped, 1/2 jalapeno [seeded], 1/2" fresh ginger and a pinch of salt; once onions have softened, add 2 ts chopped garlic, 1 bay leaf, 1 ts dry fenugreek leaves, 1 ts cumin powder, 1ts coriander powder, 1 ts garam masala, 1/4-1/2 ts cayenne pepper and a pinch of ground cardamom, after 30 seconds, add 2 C of crushed tomatoes [she uses Hunt's Natural] and 1 C of low sodium chicken stock. Bring to a boil; reduce heat to low and simmer until tomatoes are tender. Cool slightly, remove the bay leaf and CAREFULLY transfer the sauce to a blender/food processor. Process to a smooth sauce [1 minute]. Pour the silky sauce into same saucepan, return the bay leaf, add 1/2 C of half and half and the reserved chicken, add a bit more stock if it seems too thick, simmer for 5 minutes, gently stirring to avoid sticking, adjust seasonings [salt, masala, fenugreek, cayenne]. She often adds 1 ts of Ketchup as her 'secret' ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Spectacular, everyone loved it. Doubled the recipe though and used a can of tomato paste and cup of tomato puree. Worked out well because I didn't have to use the corn starch. Will definitely make it again!! If you are a beer drinker, Southern Tier IPA pairs with this meal unbelieveably well. My wife says I should make it when ever company comes for supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Great Recipe!! No more canned butter chicken sauce for me :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
We really thought this had a strange flavor. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I added 1/2 cup pulsed cashews at the end. My DH and I truly enjoyed this and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorig23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Absolutely the best I have had! It is a little time consuming but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticatedGoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Perry, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I have made this several times and we all love it. I substituted half of the half-and-half for coconut milk and used 2 large onions, 1/2 cup of broccoli florets and 1/2 cup of thinly sliced carrots. I have used cubed pork, cubed chicken breasts & cubed chicken thighs and all work very well. I used canola oil because I didn't have peanut oil. We make this about once a week since I first found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne Lee Reid Robertson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anmore, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
As some of the other reviewers said, this is pretty bland with the amount of spices as written (and I am a HUGE wimp about spicy food). I suppose since garam masala is a mix, that different brands vary resulting in some that are spicier than others. Either way, I prepared it as written and it reminded me of creamy tomato soup. Tasty but bland. I added an extra 2 heaping teaspoons of garam masala, a sprinkling of chili powder, about 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, a little extra salt, and a heaping tablespoon of tomato paste. I omitted the cornstarch because my sauce was plenty thick enough. This was my first time cooking anything Indian, so I felt a little lost when it came to the spices, but it ended up very delicious! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I've made this twice now and everyone has really liked it. I did thin the sauce with some milk. The "prep time" being listed at 10 minutes is ludicrous--it takes 10 minutes to gather the ingredients from the pantry and frig!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
We really liked this, although next time I think I will add golden raisins. Great recipe, very easy and fast. It's going into the regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KKBeep

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choctaw, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 752) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States