Chicken Long Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I used mung bean noodles because that is all I could find and it paired perfectly with my Kalua Pig. I drizzled a couple of drops of sesame oil in my leftover the next day and that was good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
My family absolutely loved it and it's hard to find something EVERYONE enjoys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
My best friend has been using this recipe for years, I LOVE it! Her mom used to make it for us when we were kids, and now I come running for this stuff. Absolutely my comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Delicious!!! I only had chicken thighs on hand and I halved the recipe and it still made a lot of soup. The kids(1yo and 4yo) LOVED it. They both had 3rds and the 4yo kept saying how delicious her soup was. Thanks for this recipe the whole family can enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is a childhood favorite of mine with one exception, I've always used bean threads instead of the rice noodles. I'll have to give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I live on the Big Island of Hawaii and have tasted lots of chicken long rice. This recipe is superb and ranks among the best I have tasted. The beauty of Hawaiian food is that it is not exotic - no peanut sauce, lemon grass, or other "Thai" like spices or flavorings -- Hawaiian food is simply and deliciously seasoned with Hawaiian sea salt, some ginger, but very few other types of spices. Plain and simple but ono. Here we eat chicken long rice more like a side dish, and therefore I lessened the amount of broth. I used pink Hawaiian sea salt. We also "snip" the long rice into more bite size pieces by taking kitchen sheers and snipping a handful of the soaked long rice at a time, until the entire batch is snipped into shorter, more manageable and bite size pieces. I used chicken thighs, canned broth, and a bit of powdered chicken broth and water because I didn't have enough of the canned broth on hand. I would also use this broth to freeze for Chinese recipes. I liked the addition of the mild Maui onions. It was pleasant but not overpowering like regular onions would be. This will be my new long rice recipe from now on. Today I am using this recipe to feed about 50 local kids in a youth gathering. I am also serving Kalua pork. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Thank you so much for this recipe! We just moved to the islands from the Mainland and have had to change our menu a bit. This is a perfect addition to our meal menu. I doubled the recipe and used chicken bouillon powder instead of stock. To make things easier I added frozen diced onions, boiled it a bit, then added the long rice noodles. At the very end, just before serving, I added about two cups of frozen spinach and two cups of diced rotisserie chicken that I bought at Costco. Believe it or not, we get cold here in Hawaii, and it was perfect for this chilly night. I will definitely be making this many more times! Mahalo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ViciousV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Delicious! Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Living in Hawaii all my life I would NEVER add lemon grass as suggested and I like the addition of bok choy. Getting kids to eat greens is hard, but mine love bok choy this way. Less is better when making comfort food and this is truely comfort food!! Love this recipe, don't change a thing!!! Mahalo nui loa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
thanks so much for the reminder. Been a long time since I made this dish and I really like this version, quick, easy and tastes great. Makes me home sick for Hawaii, as most Hawaiian food does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States