Chicken Long Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Growing up as a child chicken long rice was and still is a favorite of mine. Now I make it often as it is simple and so delicious. This is a good chicken long rice recipe. Nowadays, I just pick up a rotisserie chicken (i.e costco) and shred the meat (thigh, drumstick, some breast) and keep the juices from the rotisserie. I usually add a pinch of hawaiian rock salt to the chicken meat (shredded) with all of its juice and 4 cans of chicken broth in a large pot. I turn the heat up on high to boil. I add some fresh ground black pepper. I use (thumb size) fresh grated ginger, 2 or 3 garlic cloves, no maui onions, and a sprinkle of green onions for garnish. I omitted the baby bok choy. One package of saifun noodles (bean thread) noodles is a must. There are about 4 bundles inside each package, enough for a large pot. Don't buy the vermicelli noodles, it is too thin. Once the broth is boiling, I add the noodles to the pot, I cover the pot and I let it get soft and expand, about 25 to 30 minutes give or take. Once the noodles are tender I use a kitchen scissors to cut up the noodles. I turn off the stove and let the noodles sit. Since the noodles will usually soak up a lot of the chicken broth I add a another can of low sodium chicken broth to the soup. I then taste and adjust seasonings (salt and black pepper). I normally eat this alone or with POI and/or rice. A very comforting and flavorful chicken soup - especially when you are feeling under the weather on those cold days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Thanks for this idea! We recently went vegetarian and I was looking for something to make with bok choy and rice vermicelli. I ended up simmering the bok choy in some water with fresh ginger and garlic in it. I added three diced green onions, some chopped cilantro, and then mixed in a peanut sauce (peanut butter, soy sauce, chili garlic sauce, and hoisin). I threw in some textured vegetable protein (TVP) to thicken it up and served it over warmed (cooked) rice vermicelli. It was a hit. I know this is nothing like your recipe really, but thought I'd add the comment so someone else might get creative too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Growing up in Hawaii, chicken long rice was a childhood favorite. This recipe is simple to make and delicious - the ginger perfectly flavors the chicken broth, and the bok choy offers some nice and slightly chewy contrast to the dish. The only modification I made was cutting back on the chicken stock by 1/3 - I eat it more as a side dish served on a plate than as a soup. This is the perfect accompaniment to a Hawaiian dinner of kalua pig and macaroni-potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Thank you so much for this recipe! We just moved to the islands from the Mainland and have had to change our menu a bit. This is a perfect addition to our meal menu. I doubled the recipe and used chicken bouillon powder instead of stock. To make things easier I added frozen diced onions, boiled it a bit, then added the long rice noodles. At the very end, just before serving, I added about two cups of frozen spinach and two cups of diced rotisserie chicken that I bought at Costco. Believe it or not, we get cold here in Hawaii, and it was perfect for this chilly night. I will definitely be making this many more times! Mahalo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ViciousV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
ONO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Icook4dave

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I've looked through numerous Chicken Long Rice recipes and this has to be one of the easiest and most flavorful recipes I've found. I use chicken breasts because my husband dislikes "brown meat" but it is just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MauiGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Delicious! Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soifua
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I never thought of Chicken Long Rice as comfort food, but I guess if you grow up on the stuff that's what it becomes. We do make it with some different stuff though, I've never had chicken long rice with bok choy, so I left it out; I'm not a huge fan of ginger, so I decreased the amount and added garlic. All my life we've used "long rice" for the noodles, it's mung bean thread (the package I bought said "saifun" don't know if that's what it's labeled as), found in the asian section of the grocery store, never heard of using rice noodles or rice vermicelli, but I'm sure it'd work. Very simple recipe, if you can find the right noodles it'll be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This was really delicious. I paired it with the kalua pig it turned out very goooood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This soup is "souper"! Made it several times for my family and they love it! Freezes well and is a great comfort food on cold winter days. For convenience I use boneless, skinless thighs. Made a large portion and took to work, kept hot in the crockpot, and all our operators and workers coming out of the cold could smell the soup right away and followed their nose to the kitchen. They all loved it and I had several marriage proposals (LOL)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States