Chicken Long Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
A definte keeper for the winter. I only had 8t bouillion powder so I was only able to make 64iz if chicken brith. It was a bit salty but I'm sure the low sodium chicken broth would have been better. Definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Good base but VERY bland- big SNORE as is. I suggest adding something that will actually make it tasty: MORE salt! Sad but true, low sodium is groovy but if you want this recipe to be flavorful here is my suggestion: Regular chicken broth, add some "Aloha Shoyu" brand "Barbecue" sauce (its just sweet and ginger-y soy sauce, not like regular BBQ sauce- once you use this you will never go back!) Then, Caramelize LOTS of onions, add to the broth, and finally (the "piece de resistance", add a generous portion of the Organic Chicken Base made by "Better Than Bouillon", sold at Costco and other good supermarkets- its worth finding and keeping many jars of it in your pantry.I never go home without it. I was a Four Seasons chef for several years- chef secret: salt, sugar, and butter, GO THERE (once in a while, life is short)! Garnish with lots of fresh chopped green onion ("Scallions" for all you mainlanders...:))) ENJOY, "Stay ONO, wen Broke Da mouth"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This is the real deal, perfect for rainy hilo days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I made this for an Hawiian themed party for senior citizens. Everyone loved it an there was none left (I doubled the recipee). I made a couple of changes. I used half the salt. I don't have access to Maui onions so I used vidalla. For the chicken, I used about 4 lbs of boneless skinless chicken thigh. This was a double batch and not having to mess with skin an bones was great. I have sinced made it for my family and still use the boneless skinless thighs. It also cuts down on the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This IS very comforting, nutritious and low in calories...not to mention economical! We had it for Sunday lunch. I added a couple small jalapenos, sliced, from the garden. Have to admit I used a regular sweet onion and regular salt and it was still awesome. Thank you, Mama Smith!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Cleary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This is a nice change from traditional chicken noodle soup I make. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
my mom made this when we were kids and i just got back from Maui and all my ohana there made this for us....mmm so ono. a regular dish at every table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This soup is "souper"! Made it several times for my family and they love it! Freezes well and is a great comfort food on cold winter days. For convenience I use boneless, skinless thighs. Made a large portion and took to work, kept hot in the crockpot, and all our operators and workers coming out of the cold could smell the soup right away and followed their nose to the kitchen. They all loved it and I had several marriage proposals (LOL)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Growing up as a child chicken long rice was and still is a favorite of mine. Now I make it often as it is simple and so delicious. This is a good chicken long rice recipe. Nowadays, I just pick up a rotisserie chicken (i.e costco) and shred the meat (thigh, drumstick, some breast) and keep the juices from the rotisserie. I usually add a pinch of hawaiian rock salt to the chicken meat (shredded) with all of its juice and 4 cans of chicken broth in a large pot. I turn the heat up on high to boil. I add some fresh ground black pepper. I use (thumb size) fresh grated ginger, 2 or 3 garlic cloves, no maui onions, and a sprinkle of green onions for garnish. I omitted the baby bok choy. One package of saifun noodles (bean thread) noodles is a must. There are about 4 bundles inside each package, enough for a large pot. Don't buy the vermicelli noodles, it is too thin. Once the broth is boiling, I add the noodles to the pot, I cover the pot and I let it get soft and expand, about 25 to 30 minutes give or take. Once the noodles are tender I use a kitchen scissors to cut up the noodles. I turn off the stove and let the noodles sit. Since the noodles will usually soak up a lot of the chicken broth I add a another can of low sodium chicken broth to the soup. I then taste and adjust seasonings (salt and black pepper). I normally eat this alone or with POI and/or rice. A very comforting and flavorful chicken soup - especially when you are feeling under the weather on those cold days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This was not as flavorful as I had hoped. Not sure if I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States