Chicken Livers with Red Wine and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This was quite tasty! The bacon was a nice addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephanieRG

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I like chicken livers, and I thought this recipe sounded appealing, but I did NOT like the result. The olives added nothing, the quantity of wine was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I thought I liked liver...but this recipe makes me think that maybe I don't! It was just too bland for me, so all I could taste was the liver. I made it with mushrooms instead of olives, and the result was warming and filling, but kinda blah. I'd suggest using a really nice wine--following the old advice not to cook with a wine you wouldn't enjoy drinking--and maybe it would be better. Still, if you're a liver-lover or a person who doesn't like spicy food, this would probably hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Childs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Really liked this, easy to prepare and tasty+++++.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This dish was awesome! I love chicken liver and have been looking for a new way to cook it. I didn't have any olives, but I imagine they would make a good addition. I ate it with buttery mashed potatoes and peas, and scarfed it down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I fixed it according to your instructions and it came out just fine. Thank you for such a good recipe. I know I'll fix it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
We love this except we always use mushrooms in place of the green olives and we thinly slice the onion instead of chopping. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
WOW! What a yummy recipe. Cut recipe in 1/4s as I made it for only one person. I did not have dry red wine, but did have some Mogen David Concord Grape wine, cooked them to reduce the wine and make a glaze.Also omited the olives as I don't care for them. They turned out fantastic. Served them with a baked potato, peas and 3 bean salad.Thanks Va , for a wonderful recipe. They will be on my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States