Chicken Livers with Red Wine and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This was quite tasty! The bacon was a nice addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephanieRG

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I like chicken livers, and I thought this recipe sounded appealing, but I did NOT like the result. The olives added nothing, the quantity of wine was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I thought I liked liver...but this recipe makes me think that maybe I don't! It was just too bland for me, so all I could taste was the liver. I made it with mushrooms instead of olives, and the result was warming and filling, but kinda blah. I'd suggest using a really nice wine--following the old advice not to cook with a wine you wouldn't enjoy drinking--and maybe it would be better. Still, if you're a liver-lover or a person who doesn't like spicy food, this would probably hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Really liked this, easy to prepare and tasty+++++.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This dish was awesome! I love chicken liver and have been looking for a new way to cook it. I didn't have any olives, but I imagine they would make a good addition. I ate it with buttery mashed potatoes and peas, and scarfed it down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I fixed it according to your instructions and it came out just fine. Thank you for such a good recipe. I know I'll fix it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
We love this except we always use mushrooms in place of the green olives and we thinly slice the onion instead of chopping. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
WOW! What a yummy recipe. Cut recipe in 1/4s as I made it for only one person. I did not have dry red wine, but did have some Mogen David Concord Grape wine, cooked them to reduce the wine and make a glaze.Also omited the olives as I don't care for them. They turned out fantastic. Served them with a baked potato, peas and 3 bean salad.Thanks Va , for a wonderful recipe. They will be on my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States