Chicken Liver Pate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Based on previous reviewers comments I tripled the recipe so that it would be easier to mix in the food processor. I figured I could freeze some of it. I used more onion than the recipe calls for and to deglaze the pan I used low sodium soy sauce. I probably could have used regular soy sauce because I needed to add more salt at the end. I'm sure it would have been great with the dry sherry but I didn't want to use it since I'm pregnant. I also added some bacon to give it some extra flavor. It's good but I think I'll play with the flavoring more before serving it to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I upped the recipe to use a whole pound of chicken livers. I did the recipe as written but there was too much liquid after cooking the livers. The pate would never thicken up even after several hours in the fridge. I made it again everything the same but drained the livers before blending and it worked great. Just the right consistancy. I also added more garlic and onion but that's just me. I will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orchard, Texas, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
A good, tasty, and simple recipe. I used the liver from my 22 lb Thanksgiving turkey, which was just over 1/4 lb, so I kept all the other quantities as listed. I think using a smaller amount of liver helped allow the moisture to evaporate from the pan when being sauteed, because there was very little liquid in the pan when the liver was cooked. If anything, there wasn't enough liquid, and it was rather hard to puree the small amount of thick stuff in my food processor. (Note: I first tried the blender, but the mixture was waaaay to thick for the blender to work effectively.) Also, to avoid having an overpowering sherry flavor that other reviewers mentioned (which I attribute to the alcohol in the sherry), I added the sherry to the garlic, onion, and liver at the end of the sauteing time to deglaze the pan and evaporate some of the alcohol. The sherry definitely didn't overwhelm the other flavors. Overall, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This was a very good recipe, it is easy and tasty. But if there are any pate snobs out there (I'm sort of one), I would rate this as a pate spread rather than a more formal pate. The cream cheese was an interesting base, but it worked. I did not use sherry (I didn't have any), and mine turned out quite thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I have never made pate before and this was super easy and really good. I did make a few changes based on items I had available in my kitchen - I used our leftover chicken livers that were wrapped in bacon, I didn't use the sherry because I didn't have any and I added an extra clove of garlic. It was very good and even my kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I quadrupled this to use a pound of livers, added some extra onion and garlic (well, 7 cloves, sliced) while sauteing the livers, and used a fraction of the sherry called for, and it was amazing. I've tried it with the amount of sherry suggested, but that seemed to overpower everything else. As for draining the livers, I didn't - a fair bit of that liquid is melted butter, which sets up nicely when chilled. The blender does seem to liquefy ingredients easier than my food processor does. I'd suggest letting the livers cool considerably before mashing, then add that liquid as seems called for. Totally delicious when served on garlic toast rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This recipe is easy, and tastes great!!I get rave reviews everytime I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I put in way to much liver, burnt the garlic black, did not strain as some one suggested, but I must say I made some fine pate, and this is coming from someone who does not make make this sort of thing!! It is chilling in the fridge now so we will see if it is really pate tomorrow at lunch! I thing that with some practice I can make some fab pate! But I must say cutting chicken livers is not for the faint hearted! I really gave my livers a good scrub after cutting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
First of all, let me say that the flavor of this mixture was fantastic. However, there were too many variables left to chance. Yes, well all have different "to taste" measurements, but please give a median amount as a starting point; three "to taste" ingredients is too many. I followed the directions, converting the ingredients to match 1 lb of chicken livers. There's no pretty way of saying that what I ended up with was a liver shake, or a very runny liver mousse. It was unappetizing to the extreme in appearance, and still has not set up after six hours in the refrigerator. Because the flavors are so fabulous, I may yet try to salvage this by using some unflavored gelatin. Just a word to the wise: even tho the recipe does not say to do so, DRAIN your livers after simmering, and add liquid as needed only. Next time, I will also use a food processor or a hand-grinder rather than a blender for more control of the texture. Flavor -- five-star, appearance -- BLECHH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I think this recipe is good, but its not great. It seems to be missing 'something'. I mean no disrespect to the author, however, it does need a little fine tuning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vandalia, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States