Chicken Liver Pate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Never made pate... Was a lil freaked out at container of fresh chick livers at deli... Uummm... Believe it or not, I needed this as an INGREDIENT for beef wellington. So, it was good. The Wellington was outstanding :). Really retro 60's cocktail party :). Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linden, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NNChick
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I didn't have sherry and didn't want to buy any so I used 2 tablespoons of Moscato wine (that's a sweet wine) that I always have for a friend who comes over often and likes it. I also used unsalted real butter because that was handy too, and Tabasco pepper sauce rather than your average hot sauce because I like the taste of Tabasco better. Oh yeah.. I used a lovely shallot instead of regular onion and I chopped it extra fine.. All these alterations were because I used what I had rather than buy more stuff! At first it looked like I had over-liquified it in the blender, but I let it all set for a few hours and tried it... I could taste my sub wine and thought I messed up.... HOWEVER, the next day it was the perfect consistency and delicious. Light livery taste with a kick from the hot sauce! Outstanding! So - I think this should be made the day before and let it sit overnight to serve to guests so it's cold and firm. Also, I tried it with crackers and light rye toast and the rye toast won hands-down. But the cracker version wasn't too shabby either. I'll make this for liver-loving friends anytime! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I loved the flavor but was disappointed that they didn't add some unflavored gelatin or some type of thickener to it as it hasn't quite set yet in my fridge :=( Some people mention draining the juices from the chicken liver mixture after cooking/prior to putting in the food processor/blender, but it seems to me that the juices are too flavorful to just throw away. Next time I'll figure out some type of thickener so it sets better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLFeeney

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Excellent base recipe. My first try at homemade pate and it came out beautifully. I tweaked a tad bit(eat pate often from gourmet markets in hood) -- I added a teaspoon of Worchester sauce (tang was missing) and used plenty (8-10 grinds) of fresh ground pepper to get the specks of black, let liver cool off about 10 minutes in freezer before blending so mixture does not liquefy when cream cheese is added, and finally when blending in cream cheese also blend in an extra pat of butter (French way)that makes it very creamy and gives more form to the cooled product. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This was an alright pate. Missing something. Not sure what though. I usually just wing it...and am happier with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This is the first time I've tried liver. Since the other reviews are so positive, I assume that I must just hate liver because that was the most disgusting thing I've ever put in my mouth. But I'm glad that it must have been a good recipe so I know it was the liver itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Wow amazing. Was looking for ingredients to use up some cream cheese and stumbled upon this recipe. I love vietnamese sandwiches but don't live anywhere I can purchase, so I've been working on duplicating the recipe. Wow cream cheese made such a huge difference in taste and made my existing recipe 90% closer. This is probably a 5 star recipe but I gave just 4 because didn't make the chicken liver, bought braunschweiger instead and then starting adding the other ingredients to taste. WOW! Awesome pate for my sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Delicious. I used chinese rice cooking wine instead of cooking sherry, but it's quite similar - and I put in about 1/3 less of the wine, seeing others' comments about it being too liquid. It came out pretty syrupy, but after a couple of hours in the fridge it got a nice buttery texture and is perfect for spreading. And it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auriam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This is a delicious recipe BUT with a few minor tweaks needed (IMO). I like garlic so I sautéed two medium sized cloves in the butter till fragrant then discarded before following the recipe as written....for the most part. I followed EJ's wise advise and drained the livers but reserved the liquid to add a small portion to the food processor until the mixture reached a consistency I liked. Sorry folks, I did not measure, just eyeballed it. Instead of regular salt I used a combination of regular salt and My Familys Seasonings...end result was fantastic! It reminds me of the liverwurst that Hickory farms used to sell. Family and friends loved it, as it was eaten up pretty fast =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Musseid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
We eat a lot of store bought pâté and thought we would look for a recipe to prepare at home with our children. We found this recipe to have a very unusual taste, and to be very watery for much longer than the few hours recommended for setting time. It did, however, set to a firm consistency after about a day in the refrigerator. The cream cheese is a peculiar addition, and I found the uncooked sherry to overpower the rest of the dish. I will certainly keep looking for pâté recipes and will not prepare this again. If you are looking for something comparable to the pâté you can purchase in the grocery store, I would start with a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kempton Park, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States