Chicken Korma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
This was pretty easy and tasty. I made it with a friend; neither of us had ever made an Indian dish before but it turned out well (we just forgot to add the parsley). It was different from any other korma I've ever had because of the tomato sauce, but that was an intersting addition. The dish might be improved by letting the chicken marinate in the sauce for a few hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This is a favorite! I like to make it just with veggies, for my vegetarian friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
My korma turned out great except that I needed to add almost twice the recommended seasonings. That could just be my taste...I agree that marinating or simmering longer improves the flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
First, this is not a korma. That said, it's a quite good tomato-based Indian dish, very much like the Indian Tomato Chicken recipe on this site. (For reference, this dish is faster to prepare and works better served on rice. (The other recipe works better with whole chicken breasts and without rice because it doesn't have enough sauce of proper consistency to go over rice in addition to the chicken; this one does.) Also, this recipe is less healthy (but still pretty healthy).)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
The sauce in this dish was delicious.. though my husband and I didn't particularly like the chicken. Next time I think we'll use veggi's such as potato's and broccoli instead of meat. We dipped whole wheat naan bread in the sauce and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
Due to reviewer comments, I decided to cook the dish differently to absorb more flavor. I sauteed according to instruction and cut the chicken into 2 in cubes and added tomato sauce to the crockpot. I also changed a few spices--using curry instead of cumin and cloves. After 3 hours in the crockpot I added cubed potatoes, green peas, carrots and the buttermilk and let that heat through for 20 min. Man, this dish had some kick! The chicken was also very tender and good. I now know not to be so liberal with the spices in the crockpot. I used light sour cream and that mellowed the hot dish perfectly. I like that the lowfat buttermilk is a healthier option to coconut milk. Thanks for the recipe and reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trainerleslie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Made this for my Indian Husband and his friend one night. It was not what I expected. There was no flavor at all. it was very bland, Indian food is not suppose to be bland/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
A little disappointing. I eat many curries and found this a little bland, also I enjoy the coconut milk and cream version better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
"Authentic" korma or not, I thought this was delicious! I wasn't sure if I was supposed to leave the whole spices in the oil during the whole cooking time, or take them out before adding onion. But I left them in the whole time, taking them out just before serving. And my dish had some serious kick! I doubled everything in the recipe, except the chicken, cause I like "saucy" dishes. I served this with steamed broccoli and it was delicious! I brought some to work today for lunch and I can't wait to heat it up. I've never cooked with buttermilk before, but now it's definitely a favorite! Thank you for sharin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lund, Skane, Sweden
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Outstanding! Reasonably quick and very tasty. My son walked in the kitchen and said "What smells so good?". Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Studboy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States