Chicken Korma II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 30, 2006
My partner and I LOVED this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Hubby and I loved this dish. A warm, spicy, tasty meal on an unusually cold spring day. And the aroma while cooking was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Though it doesn't taste like the traditional Chicken Korma I'm used to ordering at Indian restaurants, it is a very nice curry dish. I've made it with raw chicken or for a quicker meal I shred roasted chicken from the store and I have even replaced the chicken with potatoes, peas and diced carrots and use vegetable broth for the vegetarian nieces. Easy to modify the spices for your own tastes - we always throw in a little cayenne. I do not use the bay leaves, nor process the garlic and ginger but instead brown them with the onion. Following another raters advice I do occasionally add raisins and they are a nice touch. To keep the dish light I use 1 cup of plain yogurt and skip the cream. We also typically serve it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
I was not...as was my family were not fans of this. It seems to be missing a 'kick'. The texture was a little off as well. We are not big Indian food fans and maybe this dish just helped to prove that fact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Incredible recipe! Definitely better if rewarmed, just as a previous reviewer mentioned. I added about 1/4 cup raisins--if you've never tried these curry/turmeric/masala/etc. dishes with raisins, this authentic Indian twist makes the finished product have a little sweetness that truly marries with the flavor. I served it over brown rice with a pinch of salt and crushed red pepper for the spice lovers. I will definitely be adding this to my permanent recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Very good. After the first night, I'd originally intended to give this recipe 4 stars and write, "Nice complex flavors, but too mild for my tastes. Still good, and something I wouldn't be surprised to be served at a real Indian restaurant." But the leftovers were even better! I guess sitting for a day gave the flavors time to coalesce and assert themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
This is a great recipe, but I added a half teaspoon more of both the garam masala and chili powder. I also added approximately a quarter cup of shredded coconut and 2 teaspoons of sugar to the cream/yogurt/cashew mixture. Very good, our favorite indian dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Easy to make. I would make it a little more spicy next time and add some peas or other vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I used boneless chicken thighs instead of breasts (we're a dark meat family) and loved the tenderness of the chicken pieces. My kids didn't quite go for the curry flavor, but my husband and I thought it was quite good. . . .especially served up with some homemade naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This was very good. I really liked the idea of the ground cashews. I did make this a low fat version by substituting cream for low fat evaporated milk and low fat yogurt. I did not need the cornflour as the evaporated milk "thickens" with heat - perfect! Thanks Kira, curry's have never been a strong point for me, maybe my luck is changing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States