Chicken Korma II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I made it EXACTLY according to the instructions. I would add 2 tsp. of salt at the end. I would also consider adding 1 cup of petite green peas at the end. The next time I make it I will try to omit the chicken so i can freeze a bunch of it and reheat it later whereupon I will add chicken or shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This is a great recipe. I absolutely love Chicken Korma and have spent alot ordering it from different Indian restaurants. I decided to try making it myself. This is a very mild recipe- not as sweet as I have tasted before but it is quite nice- I think all the ingredients were just right and the cooking was very easy. My husband flipped over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
This was good, but nothing spectacular. It's not as thick and creamy as most kormas. I would highly NOT recommend crumbling the bay leaves as in the recipe... it would be better to just leave them whole and then remove them later. As it was we had to keep spitting out these little crunchy pieces. I used 2.5 tsp garam masala, 1/4 tsp. cayenne, 4 bay leaves, and coconut milk rather than heavy cream (maybe that's why it wasn't as thick as it should be?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This was absolutely perfect. I had all the ingredients on hand, so I did not substitute anything. I ate it leftover cold the next day. I will definitely make this curry dish again. I may try it with halibut next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
This is a very good recipe, but we did make a few changes to it. It was definitely a 5 for us after that! I did not use the bay leaves, and I left out the cumin, coriander, and chili powder, and I used an additional teaspoon of Garam Masala and a pinch of cayenne. As some other reviewers have done, I used coconut milk in place of the heavy cream, also, and used crushed tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. I added some julienned carrots with the onions as they cooked, and about a cup of frozen peas with the cashew mixture. I served over basmasi rice and sprinkled with chopped cashews. It tastes as good as the Korma at our favorite Indian restaurant. This one's a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I loved this recipe. I added a whole container of yogurt and replaced the cream with lite coconut milk. I also added some peas and more garam masala. Other reviewers are right when they say it tastes much like regular chicken curry. Still tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
OMG!OMG!OMG! This is SO good! My husband and I just loved it and will be making this again! You must try. It is super easy to make and OH so Delish! It was not spicy at all, but you can make it spicy very easily! Go ahead and try and you will not be disappointed! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This is sooo good! I altered the recipe a bit though. I used 1 tbsp of crushed garlic, 1/2 tbsp ground ginger, 4 bay leaves, 2 1/2 tsp garam masala powder, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/2 tsp curry powder, and used coconut milk instead of heavy cream. Everything else kept the same. It's sooo yummy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The_Martins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This recipe was a great hit. I made it for 110 people. I changed a few things... I substituted 1/2 the volume of heavy cream with 2% milk and added dried coconut to it. It gives a great texture. Well good job on the recipe. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prateesh Varughese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
One of the best Indian recipes I've tried on All Recipes! I used coconut milk instead of heavy cream and omitted the broth so that I didn't have to add maïzena. Just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium

Displaying results 121-130 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States