Chicken Korma II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
There is no "traditional Indian chicken korma." For one thing, like many of the Indian dishes we enjoy, it was created for the Western palate. For another, korma is always individualized. It smelled amazing while cooking, but ended up tasting far less flavorful than the scent had me expecting. It was better the second day, but still... didn't really taste like much. I may try marinating the meat next time. All of my spices are new, so I know that wasn't the issue. If only I could figure out how to make it taste like it smelled...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Made this for a group who will travel 2 hours round trip to the only Indian restaurant in our area -- I am not experienced in Indian cooking at all -- and this was WONDERFUL!! Only change I would make is to add a few more cashews to the sauce for more of the nutty flavor. Couldn't find garam masala in my small town; found recipe for mixing your with more readily available spices at another Web site. For my taste, I would have added cayenne, but my crowd found some other dishes I made too spicy, so this was just right for them. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Not exactly what I had in mind, but it had a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This dish was as good as any chicken Korma I have had in an Indian restaurant. Two things to note, I used fat free coconut milk in place of half and half. Also, several reviewers mentioned that it was a very mild dish. Well, Indian Chili powder is not the same as Mexican and is, in fact,very hot. It can be purchased at an Indian food store. The brand I use is Rajah. It makes a huge difference to the flavor, but use it sparingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
What a great recipe! It was a huge hit in my house last night. I used coconut milk instead of heavy cream (didn't have any) and 2 heaping tbsp. of tomato paste instead of the tomato sauce. I also used powdered ginger since I didn't have fresh on hand. I didn't use the cornstarch at all. I eyeballed all the other ingredients for measurements and ended up with a wonderfully thick creamy dish. Served with any style of Indian rice this is a perfect dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LApagmom2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
very good....will definately make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.Wilkinson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Very mild, very aromatic dish. It tasted really good, but I think it could have been a tad sweeter. Overall, though, the spices were just right and we enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Great recipe! I added more cornstarch and a bit of flour to thicken the suace. Also very good if you save some whole cashews to throw in at the end -and great with some extra red pepper for spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This is the best Korma I have ever made. My husband loved it. It was just spot on. I didn't have any yogart so thickened up some milk with cornflour, but apart from that I followed the recipe exactly. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Excellent! Looks, smells, and tastes very similar to the chicken korma served at my favorite Indian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States