Chicken Korma II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I didnt have any ginger or garam masala to hand but it was still a very tastey dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigcook_littlecook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
We will make this recipe again! The changes we made (to try to mimic our favorite local Indian restaurant): - Use coconut milk instead of cream - 2 tsp sugar (added with liquids) - 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper (or to taste for heat) While it was simmering (during the 'fiddle phase', trying to get the perfect flavor), we added about 3 tablespoons cream (for mouth-feel) and used a hand-held blender (irreplaceable in the kitchen!) to puree about 1/3 of the mixture to thicken, and we simmered for closer to 30 mins than 15 for the final stretch. Half of the recommended cornstarch was used. Thickness is perfect. We are letting the mixture sit in the refrigerator overnight - I will give this dish 5 stars if it shines like I think it might. *Note - for those not wanting to use sugar, try adding 1/2 cup of golden raisins. That will be our next recipe addition when we try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I was stationed in Germany and we would always eat at this Indian place. My husband and I miss that place so much! We crave it all the time! They had a dish just like this! I think this tasted exactly like that. The only thing missing was the tea and the nann.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Stone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I thought this was pretty bland.For me Indian food is all about the explosion of flavors. I love its depth. Unfortunately, this did not have it. If I make it again I'll probably triple the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goffstown, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Tried this with tofu and vegetables, which came out with a strong smell of spices yet bland. Might be better with chicken and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daly City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This was pretty tasty, but I couldn't get over the appearance! It looked like, well, I don't know how to put this lightly, the color of baby poop. There, I said it. I have had lamb korma at our local Indian resaurant and this didn't taste much like it, but like I said, it was pretty tasty. I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Not sure what I did wrong but mine turned out very watery and quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
With a few tweaks, this was easily the best chicken Korma I have ever tasted. As written it was too bland for our tastes, and I ended up adding quite a lot more spice (not the chilli powder though - Korma isn't supposed to be spicy). The only other changes I made were to omit the cornstarch - it was plenty thick already. Also, I just roughly chopped the cashews, and threw them in. This was absolutely amazing served over basmati rice with paratha. Thanks, Trina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
mmmMMM!!!! This is a great curry recipe to take on. Very rewarding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somecookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I tripled the spices for this recipe, but it still didn't have much flavor. Also, it tasted more pakistani than indian to me. It was okay, but wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States