Chicken Kokkinisto with Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Made many times as is but add a cinnamon stick to the sauce as it braises. Delicious and authentic!! Oh and I use bucatini (thicker spaghetti noodles) vs orzo, and grated mizithra cheese on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Simple ingredients, wonderful flavors! I used boneless thighs and breasts. My wife was ok with it, but I loved it and will make again. Side note, boneless chicken didn't need the 40 minute cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
this was wonderful. I did however add a pinch of cinnamon anda few fennel seeds to spice it up a little.My husband "ohh-ed" and ahh-ed" throughout the meal. A keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I really liked this. The things I did different were to use diced can tomatoes and no cloves. Also I did deglaze the pan with some white wine before adding in the tomatoes and chicken stock instead of water. I added some red pepper flakes. The leftovers were even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This recipe works very well with chicken leg quarters as well as drum sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Following some other reviews, I used a little white wine, chicken broth instead of water and I added 1/2 tsp or so of oregano (guessing... I used my hand not an actual tsp)... rave reviews from all sides. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This was easy and somewhat tasty, but coul definitely use some "jazzing up" for my tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Added a few red pepper flakes and went skinless with the chicken and it turned out pretty well. Not much in the way of leftovers..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This is great!! I read the reviews and took their advice because I too only use skinless boneless chicken breasts-I brown the chicken first and saute the onions and garlic in 2 tbs. white wine. I also use chicken broth (if I have it) in place of the water. My family loves this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Great base for a classic Greek dish. I used chicken breasts instead of legs. I seasoned the chicken with salt and pepper and then seared. I removed chicken and sauteed my onions and garlic with a little white wine deglaze. Instead of water, I used chicken broth and also added one can diced tomatoes and one can of tomato paste. After I returned my chicken to my dutch oven, I finished off the dish in the oven at 325 for about 2 hours (adding 1 cup uncooked orzo during the last 30 minutes). Plate and top with crumbled feta and some fresh diced basil. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States