Chicken Kokkinisto with Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Following some other reviews, I used a little white wine, chicken broth instead of water and I added 1/2 tsp or so of oregano (guessing... I used my hand not an actual tsp)... rave reviews from all sides. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This is great!! I read the reviews and took their advice because I too only use skinless boneless chicken breasts-I brown the chicken first and saute the onions and garlic in 2 tbs. white wine. I also use chicken broth (if I have it) in place of the water. My family loves this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I really liked this. The things I did different were to use diced can tomatoes and no cloves. Also I did deglaze the pan with some white wine before adding in the tomatoes and chicken stock instead of water. I added some red pepper flakes. The leftovers were even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Made many times as is but add a cinnamon stick to the sauce as it braises. Delicious and authentic!! Oh and I use bucatini (thicker spaghetti noodles) vs orzo, and grated mizithra cheese on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
this was wonderful. I did however add a pinch of cinnamon anda few fennel seeds to spice it up a little.My husband "ohh-ed" and ahh-ed" throughout the meal. A keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Simple ingredients, wonderful flavors! I used boneless thighs and breasts. My wife was ok with it, but I loved it and will make again. Side note, boneless chicken didn't need the 40 minute cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I agree with Judith a little bland, However My children really liked it. 5 stars for Cost , & time 4 stars for flavor I will certainly make this again. The sauce was great I made it with white rice. My husband hates Orzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This recipe works very well with chicken leg quarters as well as drum sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I am giving this recipe 4 stars for potential and ease of preparation, and perhaps 3 stars for taste as written. I halved the recipe and used 4 chicken thighs. Having tasted the mixture before serving and finding it pretty bland, I added about 1 tsp dried oregano, about 1/2 tsp dried mint, about 1/2 tsp chili flakes, a good shake of spicy herbamare which is a spicy salt mixture-probably not really needed. I let the dish simmer for a few extra minutes at this point. I also minced 3 more cloves of garlic and added just before serving. I had used one standard (about 375mls) can of plain tomato sauce, about half a can of water, then added about 3/4 cup of long grain rice as I did not have orzo on hand. Also next time I make this I will certainly take the skin off of the chicken either after browning, or before starting the recipe. So, I did change the recipe quite a bit and of course this is only due to personal taste but I do appreciate having the chance to try it out. We will be making it again as it is a relatively fast meal. Thank you for posting this dimitra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
it was a little bland and I didn't have ground cloves so I added Oriental Five Spices and some honey. It turned out really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariehipple

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Silverthorne, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States