Chicken Kokkinisto with Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Great base for a classic Greek dish. I used chicken breasts instead of legs. I seasoned the chicken with salt and pepper and then seared. I removed chicken and sauteed my onions and garlic with a little white wine deglaze. Instead of water, I used chicken broth and also added one can diced tomatoes and one can of tomato paste. After I returned my chicken to my dutch oven, I finished off the dish in the oven at 325 for about 2 hours (adding 1 cup uncooked orzo during the last 30 minutes). Plate and top with crumbled feta and some fresh diced basil. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I am giving this recipe 4 stars for potential and ease of preparation, and perhaps 3 stars for taste as written. I halved the recipe and used 4 chicken thighs. Having tasted the mixture before serving and finding it pretty bland, I added about 1 tsp dried oregano, about 1/2 tsp dried mint, about 1/2 tsp chili flakes, a good shake of spicy herbamare which is a spicy salt mixture-probably not really needed. I let the dish simmer for a few extra minutes at this point. I also minced 3 more cloves of garlic and added just before serving. I had used one standard (about 375mls) can of plain tomato sauce, about half a can of water, then added about 3/4 cup of long grain rice as I did not have orzo on hand. Also next time I make this I will certainly take the skin off of the chicken either after browning, or before starting the recipe. So, I did change the recipe quite a bit and of course this is only due to personal taste but I do appreciate having the chance to try it out. We will be making it again as it is a relatively fast meal. Thank you for posting this dimitra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Following some other reviews, I used a little white wine, chicken broth instead of water and I added 1/2 tsp or so of oregano (guessing... I used my hand not an actual tsp)... rave reviews from all sides. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This is great!! I read the reviews and took their advice because I too only use skinless boneless chicken breasts-I brown the chicken first and saute the onions and garlic in 2 tbs. white wine. I also use chicken broth (if I have it) in place of the water. My family loves this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
it was a little bland and I didn't have ground cloves so I added Oriental Five Spices and some honey. It turned out really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariehipple

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leadville, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I agree with Judith a little bland, However My children really liked it. 5 stars for Cost , & time 4 stars for flavor I will certainly make this again. The sauce was great I made it with white rice. My husband hates Orzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I really liked this. The things I did different were to use diced can tomatoes and no cloves. Also I did deglaze the pan with some white wine before adding in the tomatoes and chicken stock instead of water. I added some red pepper flakes. The leftovers were even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This recipe works very well with chicken leg quarters as well as drum sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This was easy and somewhat tasty, but coul definitely use some "jazzing up" for my tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Added a few red pepper flakes and went skinless with the chicken and it turned out pretty well. Not much in the way of leftovers..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States