Chicken Kokkinisto with Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Made many times as is but add a cinnamon stick to the sauce as it braises. Delicious and authentic!! Oh and I use bucatini (thicker spaghetti noodles) vs orzo, and grated mizithra cheese on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Simple ingredients, wonderful flavors! I used boneless thighs and breasts. My wife was ok with it, but I loved it and will make again. Side note, boneless chicken didn't need the 40 minute cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
this was wonderful. I did however add a pinch of cinnamon anda few fennel seeds to spice it up a little.My husband "ohh-ed" and ahh-ed" throughout the meal. A keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Swartz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I really liked this. The things I did different were to use diced can tomatoes and no cloves. Also I did deglaze the pan with some white wine before adding in the tomatoes and chicken stock instead of water. I added some red pepper flakes. The leftovers were even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This recipe works very well with chicken leg quarters as well as drum sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Following some other reviews, I used a little white wine, chicken broth instead of water and I added 1/2 tsp or so of oregano (guessing... I used my hand not an actual tsp)... rave reviews from all sides. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This was easy and somewhat tasty, but coul definitely use some "jazzing up" for my tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Added a few red pepper flakes and went skinless with the chicken and it turned out pretty well. Not much in the way of leftovers..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This is great!! I read the reviews and took their advice because I too only use skinless boneless chicken breasts-I brown the chicken first and saute the onions and garlic in 2 tbs. white wine. I also use chicken broth (if I have it) in place of the water. My family loves this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Great base for a classic Greek dish. I used chicken breasts instead of legs. I seasoned the chicken with salt and pepper and then seared. I removed chicken and sauteed my onions and garlic with a little white wine deglaze. Instead of water, I used chicken broth and also added one can diced tomatoes and one can of tomato paste. After I returned my chicken to my dutch oven, I finished off the dish in the oven at 325 for about 2 hours (adding 1 cup uncooked orzo during the last 30 minutes). Plate and top with crumbled feta and some fresh diced basil. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States