Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
This recipe is really good, however I had a hard time keeping the butter in the chicken. I fried the chicken for about 2 minutes on each side, then baked it for about 15 minutes in a 350 degree oven and it came out perfectly. I did use more dill, because I love it. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
I have to disagree with everyone who said this recipe was 'easy'. To keep it short and sweet, be prepared. It was messy, time consuming (getting the chicken wrapped securely around those pats of butter is HARD....rolling the chicken breasts pierced with skewers/toothpicks in the coatings and getting them well-covered is even harder!!) and the end result was very bland. Maybe I should have used some salt (which is not listed anywhere in the recipe)??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
Bill this recipe is wonderful. It is fairly easy to make & delicious. I did use the coating mixture for chicken nuggets for my son & he loved them. I have already added this to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
You all have to try Uncle Bill's recipes. He's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I will NEVER buy a packaged kiev again. I think the dill did it. Followed receipe, only added BonBell cheese (1/2) per breast. All I can say is excellent. Fried to brown, finished in oven (350 degrees for 30 mins.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrontierCook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I mixed dill, parsley and garlic powder into the butter. Boyfriend (Russian) thought it was fantastic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
My husband and I just love it! I didn't have to change the recipe at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
This was quite easy to make although I couldn't taste the dill. Perhaps add more dill to the flour mixture next time. Also, I used pre-crushed corn flakes instead of bread crumbs which made it very crispy & yummy. More garlic wouldn't go astray. This recipe has definitely made it into our family's usual recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUINNY2706

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Excellent recipe. I need to practice the skills but even for a first time, this turned out very well and my family all enjoyed it, even the picky eaters. This is worth the effort for a special dinner, but isn't overly fussy. I used a meat thermometer to gauge the chicken which also helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
This is not as easy as those frozen ones you can buy but they taste a lot better. The steps in this recipe may make someone apprehensive but it wasn't as hard as it appears. I too used another's advice and fried for a few min and then baked until cooked through. I served over Uncle Ben's wild rice pilaf and a side of steamed veggies and it was very good. It worked great for a romantic dinner with my boyfriend and leftovers were ALMOST as good as the ones right out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States